newbie, with a question on layouts (1 Viewer)

firebird123

Free Member
Nov 9, 2013
Mansfield
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Apache 700
Exp
i am a newbie
what are the benefits of main bed location,ie end bed or mid bed,or fixed bed, getting a Motorhome soon but this part confuses me?

philw111

Free Member
Mar 22, 2009
Moray Firth
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 484
Exp
Since 2004
If you don't mind making up the bed each night then you just have to look for the layout that suits you during the day. The exact positioning of the bed won't make that much difference.

We have a fixed bed which means that it can be left made up and does not interfere with anyone wanting to stay up later in the lounge area. We lose some day time space but it suits us better.

Each to their own...

Phil

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
what are the benefits of main bed location

There is a huge benefit with over cab bed, huge permanent bed and living space free.

You do pay in diesel.

Put a fixed bed "down stairs" and a huge amount of available space is taken up to be used only 1/3rd of the time.

Every square mm of a MH is priceless.

Now move on to cooking, some layouts are appalling.

Upvote 0
Oct 15, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
C Class Laika Ecovip 7R
Exp
As others have said it's all down to your preference I have a side French bed but would prefer an island bed but could not afford one so it's horses for courses.:thumb:

Upvote 0

superk

Free Member
Aug 22, 2007
Devon
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion now sold
Exp
8 years
Main factors relate to do you want to make it up each night, is it easy to get into or out of for both parties should the need arise.