Newbie - help with fridge issue (1 Viewer)

weehee

Free Member
Nov 20, 2011
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Low Line
Exp
Newbie!
Hi all, I am the proud owner of my first ever motorhome, Bessacar E645. The night before we set off, I plug the van in to top up the batteries but I have noticed when I switch the fridge on it still runs on gas. The fridge chooses whether to run from gas or electricity but I was told when its hooked up it will always choose electricity. Can anyone advise if this is normal? Thanks.:thumb:

dennismartin

Free Member
Jul 26, 2011
hull
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
im a newbie
i would check the fuses first make sure its plugged in

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
W

weehee

Free Member
Nov 20, 2011
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Low Line
Exp
Newbie!
Thanks for the advice, The fridge doesnt have a way to change the power source manually so I will check the fuses. Thanks again!

Upvote 0

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
Hi weehee and welcome :thumb:Turn off the gas to your fridge there by forcing the fridge to select leccy ::bigsmile:
terry

Upvote 0
Mar 26, 2009
Yr Wyddgrug
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL
Exp
Since 2009
My fridge has an electrical switch in the wardrobe. A 240v master switch I suspect. If its not on, your autoselect would have no option but to choose gas.

Just a thought.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
Which model fridge do you have?

My Dometic Fridge freezer has an auto change over, it sas "AUTO" on the display along with a symbol for either a mains plug, a gas flame or a battery, to indicate which is in use. On auto it will choose mains if it is available.