Newbie - help with fridge issue

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by weehee, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. weehee

    weehee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Hi all, I am the proud owner of my first ever motorhome, Bessacar E645. The night before we set off, I plug the van in to top up the batteries but I have noticed when I switch the fridge on it still runs on gas. The fridge chooses whether to run from gas or electricity but I was told when its hooked up it will always choose electricity. Can anyone advise if this is normal? Thanks.:thumb:
     
  2. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    mine as a switch for gas electric and 12 volt i just set it to the one i need at the time
     
  3. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    i would check the fuses first make sure its plugged in
     
  4. weehee

    weehee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Thanks for the advice, The fridge doesnt have a way to change the power source manually so I will check the fuses. Thanks again!
     
  5. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi weehee and welcome :thumb:Turn off the gas to your fridge there by forcing the fridge to select leccy :BigGrin:
    terry
     
  6. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,526
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    My fridge has an electrical switch in the wardrobe. A 240v master switch I suspect. If its not on, your autoselect would have no option but to choose gas.

    Just a thought.
     
  7. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Which model fridge do you have?

    My Dometic Fridge freezer has an auto change over, it sas "AUTO" on the display along with a symbol for either a mains plug, a gas flame or a battery, to indicate which is in use. On auto it will choose mains if it is available.

    However it is possible to change it to manual selection by pushing a small button next to the LCD display. The AUTO goes off on the display and by pushing the button you choose, mains, gas, battery or back to AUTO.

    If yours is similar check that AUTO is selected, perhaps it had been left on manual by someone pressing the button inadvertently....

    It will only run on battery when the van engine is running.....
     
Loading...

Share This Page