NEWBIE Advice Needed On Electrics

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by jonandebs, Aug 27, 2010.

1. jonandebs

jonandebs Read Only Funster

Hi All

As im new to the whole MH scene i need some advice on electrics. I own a 1990 Swift Kontiki, it has 3 types of power. Own battery, leisure battery and electric hookup. My question is this...... without electric hookup how would i connect say a laptop to my leisure battery? What would i need or who do i need to see? I know this may seem like a pretty basic question but excuse the newbieness!!:Blush:

Thanks in advance

2. Wildman

Wildman Read Only Funster

Hi and welcome to the fun. The leisure battery is 12v so either you will need a dedicated DC/DC charge lead for your particular laptop, or a small 150W inverter. Plug into either a 12v socket or cigarettee type socket. If you charge from the vehicle battery only do so whilst travelling. Leisure battery will be charged when on hookup. But then when on hookup you can just use you normall 240V charger.

3. jonandebs

jonandebs Read Only Funster

Thanks Wildman

Will be looking out for lighter plugin adapter.:thumb:

4. slobadoberbob

slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

pure sine wave is better as an inverter