New TV can't plug into Sky box

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Sparkly, May 13, 2016.

  1. Sparkly

    Sparkly Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    79
    hi there

    Just got a new tv for the motorhome and it only has HDMI sockets and my SKY+ box only has scart sockets.

    Does anyone know how I can connect the two?

    A new SKY+ box from SKY is £200 which us just a bit much.

    There are cheap ones on eBay but will SKY be OK with me using my card in them? Has anyone done this?

    Thanks
     
  2. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    You could use one of these

     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Clickem

    Clickem Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Northumberland
    To receive SKY paid for channels the card and the box have to be "paired" together with a phone call to Sky. Your Sky card will work in any Sky box but will only give you the Sky version of Freeview
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Poohbear

    Poohbear Funster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ring Sky and tell them your box is dead and won't switch on. When they say they can sell you a new one, ask them to trasnfer you to their cancellations department so you can cancel your contract. A new shiny Sky box will be on it's way to you the same day.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  5. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    9,667
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. CHRI$

    CHRI$ Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,595
    Likes Received:
    7,102
    Location:
    england
    dont buy the above cable it wont work.there is NO cable That connects SCARTto HDMI.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    2,699
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    There's one on Amazon:

     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Steve N Tracy

    Steve N Tracy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    How old is your Sky + box? mines well over 5 years old and has a Hdmi slot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    2,699
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Here's a converter:



    Link doesn't appear but it's on Amazon: just Google SCART to HDMI converter.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560
    Likes Received:
    11,121
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    what make TV have you bought? it would be very unusual to only have HDMI as it limits the market that the manufacturers can sell to

    When you press the "source" or "input" button on the TV remote what options does it give you?
     
  11. Onemanandhisdog

    Onemanandhisdog Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Sussex
    Yeah, they told me I'd have to pay 60 odd quid for an engineer once, I said I'll leave then, lo and behold an engineer came for nothing!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Poohbear

    Poohbear Funster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Worcester
    Yes, we've just done that recently.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    You don't even have to ring them up to pair your card to another box. We have a box bought off eBay in the motorhome and each time we go away, log onto www.sky.com/quickfix and pair the card. When we come home, I just pair it back to the home box. Easy peesy. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. maxi77

    maxi77 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Kingdom of Fife
    We have an Ebay sky+ HD box,no problems getting it paired and it is miles better than the old ones using HDMI. I bought it to replace a 'free' replacement box from Sky that failed after 9 months and had no warranty where as my cheap Ebay one has 2 years
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. davanne

    davanne Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    7,126
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    image.jpeg
    We have used one like that without any problems
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page