new or used motorhomes ?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by JimboT, Jan 15, 2014.

1. JimboT

JimboT Funster

We have recently bought a motorhome and a few of our friends are now interested in getting one.
    The question is would you buy new £40,000 ~ £50,000 or buy used for that budget.
    We bought used because we did not know 100% what we wanted.
    They are looking for 4 berth machines.
    They seem to think i am an expert only been away three times two days max.
    Jim

2. injebreck99

injebreck99 Funster

You now know more than you did before, and probably more than them!

3. chaser

chaser Funster

I'd buy used at half or even a quarter of that:Eeek:

• Like Like x 4
  4. lesleyjean

lesleyjean Funster

Definitely USED every time.:Smile:

You can do exactly the same things in a used motorhome as you can do in a new motorhome.

Older Motorhomes are built better.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
    • Like Like x 5
  5. Chockswahay

Chockswahay Funster

It's all a matter of budget and personal choice :Smile:

• Like Like x 2
  6. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

Used.

Let someone else take The Big Hit and fix all The Faults.

• Like Like x 2
  7. Forestboy

Forestboy Funster Life Member

Definitely used for us even if we won a million on the lotto.
    We've had new and used and older m/homes are so much better built then new ones. In fact we sold a new m/home, had it less than a year and bought the one we have now which was 8 years old when we bought it. There is no comparison in the quality this is streets ahead of the new one. We sold because we were very disappointed with the quality not for financial reasons. Admittedly we did go from a American RV to a German so you would expect better quality but even so we made a conscious decision to go older to get the quality and have not regretted it once, probably best decision we've made motorhome wise.

• Like Like x 1
  8. TheBig1

TheBig1 Funster Life Member