Network help needed.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by olley, Mar 21, 2014.

1. olley

olley Funster

Hi guys we moved into our new (to us) flat last week, its the living accommodation for brother-in-laws pub which he doesn't use, he's fine with me connecting to his wifi, in fact just for me he's upgrading it to fibre next week. :thumb:

Now my question is can I pick up his signal and rebroadcast it as a different network for our lappys, phones, printers and what have you? He's thinking of making his wifi an open network for his clients, so I would like to be on our own secure network.

Ian

2. scholesman

scholesman Funster

Hi Olley
    I'm no expert and I wouldn't know if you can pick up his signal and rebroadcast it as a different network but to make yourself secure on an 'open network' you can use a VPN which encrypts all your data, making it ideal when you are aboard for checking your banking,watching BBC I Player etc etc but not sure what the cost would be long term.

3. scotjimland

scotjimland Funster Life Member

HI Ian,

When we lived at the pub in Kent I wanted to do the same thing.. so run a LAN cable from the router in the pub to my wireless router ..

Don't think you can do it wirelessly, but I may be wrong

4. olley

olley Funster

Hi Jim, but if your connected to the same router can't one wifi network see and access the other through the router?

Ian

5. ShiftZZ

ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

Would this do it?
    https://www.aldi.co.uk/en/specialbu.../product-detail/ps/p/wireless-wi-fi-extender/

[​IMG]

Extend your home Wi-Fi network into hard-to-reach areas of your home or simply use it as a wireless router.

Features:

Four modes: Wireless Network Range Extender, Access-point, Wireless Router, Client-mode connecting to existing LAN devices
    Easy configuration
    5 status LEDs
    RJ45 network cable
    Compact dimensions: 49 x 75 x 71mm

I think that you lock down the extender...

Could be on the wrong track..

6. buttons

buttons Funster