Free Member
May 19, 2013
Canterbury
Funster No
MH
trailer/caravan
Exp
im a newbie
Ok Im making a caravan (as such) I need to power:12v lights (18w total), my mac, 2 camera chargers, 5w shower pump and maybe a fan.

What is the best way to power this lot for as cheap as possible?

I looked into to solar but its so expensive to do it correctly, Im travelling for 3 months.

I assume i need a few leisure batteries and a 240v converter but what is the best way to charge the batteries and failing best whats the cheapest?

I have a dwindling budget and even less time to sort it!

In advance, Thank you ever so much for any advice you can offer me!!!!!!!!

Many thanks

Kieran

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Why do you say solar is expensive... £100 -£120 ish on ebay will get you an 80w panel, regulator and fittings.. Hook that to a leisure battery and off you go...

Upvote 0

FULL TIMER

Free Member
May 31, 2012
NORWICH
Funster No
MH
SELF BUILT IVECO 75E17
Exp
BEEN BUILDING THEM FOR 32 years
Easiest way is to just have a split charge relay such as this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Durite-Vo...tEquipment_Accessories_SM&hash=item19d8a150d3
fitted to vehicle and feeding a battery or bank of batteries in the caravan. This might not be the best way but is certainly the cheapest and pretty failsafe as long as you travel quite a bit, if you intend to use mains hook-ups even occasionally it would pay to the add something like the Zig X70 charger. There are of course better ways but a lot more money involved such as using a battery to battery charger like this Link Removed
together with a better battery charger for when on mains hook up may be something like these http://www.sp-shop.co.uk/Sterling-P...12V-60A-Battery-Charger-PN-PCU1260-3-OUT.html or variations of them as you can see there are quite a few variations available depending on your budget and your style of camping

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements