Need new hard drive recorders at home

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Minxy Girl, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    9,951
    Location:
    E Yorks
    At home we currently have some hard drive / DVD recorders which are getting old in the tooth and keep playing up (like not recording hubby's rugby :D ) and sometimes loose the plot totally, so we're looking to replace them but aren't sure what with.

    We have ones with built in DVDs so that we can transfer programmes we've recorded to the hard drive to DVD to take away in the camper as our Avtex won't play them via the USB connection (see separate thread).

    Assuming I can get the Avtex to play USB/portable hard drive recordings done elsewhere I won't need the DVD bit, therefore I assume I'll just need a hard drive recorder with a USB 'out'? If so, can anyone recommend any models - I'd need to get a couple of them so wouldn't want to pay the earth but don't want a load of rubbish either.
     
  2. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
  3. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Kettering
    Can't help with suggesting any hard drives but maybe I can with the Avtex USB problem.

    It only supports USB drives formatted in a certain way and will only play standard media file type of which the DVD format isn't one.

    Bit more info here:

    avtex.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    9,951
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Thanks Nic - I think he's already tried everything the could find on the internet but I'll pass this on to him just in case ... you never know!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,941
    Likes Received:
    10,713
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I have recently installed a new WD hard drive, it does everything it says on the box. It is a WD cloud share 3tb, it's storage is available from anywhere on any phone tab or pc. 10/10
     
  6. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    When our Pan-a-cronic box played up in a similar manner, I rescanned all the channels. This seemed to work but a by product of the rescan was that all the recording timers were deleted. Now when it plays up I just delete the inactive timers. A bit of a pain but it does help.
     
  7. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Kettering
    It''s from the instruction manual for my TV. As far as I know it's the same for all models.

    I only know because it's come up a couple of times before
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
  9. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,557
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I think the key point is your video recordings need to be in mpeg 2 format. If your video recorder can't do that you would need to convert them using a pc, which can be a slow process and more hassle than it may be worth.
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    If you use the term PVR personal video recorder you'll get better hits.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    I have a Topfield 5800, you can transfer any recorded programs to a PC or HDD.
     
Loading...

Share This Page