Roamin1329

Free Member
Oct 2, 2012
Currently Guardamar Spain
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam T line 700
Exp
Pretty much full time now, currently down in Spain for the winter. France beckons for summer 2013
No not lost at all really, but a little concerned.
As complete newbies to motorhoming we set off on the 5th of October in search of warmer climes... all good so far as the weather as been great as we wound our way down from Calais, through the Champagne region ( first night we wild camped on the outskirts of a quiet little village..).and then came the first dip into our ACSi book....ooh er. Three closed campsites later!!!!....and we are feeling a little out on a limb.
We are currently down in Frejus on the south coast and safely ensconced in an open ACSI registerd site. But, we have now been told that the majority of French campsites will close tomorrow????
We have been told to grab an Aires book, which we will do, and infact there is one just down the road here, but! From what I have seen they are a bit car parky.... No offence intended.
We are more than capable of muddling on for now, but some experienced advise / thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks and best regards .

WynandJean

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 23, 2010
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Bailey Autograph 682
Exp
Since 2010
Before you write off the idea of staying om aires I would suggest you give it a go. The thing with aires is that, like anything there are many variations.

Yes, there are aires that are like car parks, but there are many more that are in lovely locations and are very pleasant places to stay. When we first went across the channel Jean was very apprehensive about the idea of aires but once we had stayed on a few she realised that there was nothing to worry about any more so than staying anywhere else.

In practice you would use them as you would a carpark i.e. you cannot book up, just turn up. If you don't like what you see go to another (we've onle done so once).