My TomTom's lost its voice..

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by magicsurfbus, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    8,211
    Location:
    NW England
    My faithful old TomTom One Edition 3 isn't talking to me any more. I'm not sure what I've done to upset her, and everything else is functioning just fine. She was OK during the summer trip abroad. The volume's up, it's not muted, and it was updated a month or two ago. I haven't got any other voice files on it.

    When the volume is turned down and it's muted there's still a faint static crackle coming out of the speaker at the back which makes me wonder about a possible software crash.

    Anyway, I'm backing up the Map folder with all the POIs in, and I'm considering a complete reset.

    If anyone else has had this problem and knows of a better solution could they please let me know? Ta.
     
  2. Detnor

    Detnor Funster

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    452
    A few years ago after an update, my Tomtom went quiet, turned out that there is a 'silent voice' in the voice selections, that somehow got applied.
    Took me ages to figure it out - I thought the speaker had given up.
     
  3. Traveller_HA5_3DOM

    Traveller_HA5_3DOM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Following the Sun
  4. BritStops

    BritStops Trader BritStop Owner

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Cambs
    My 2.5p is why not try it without the voice for a while and see how you get on?

    I hated mine telling me where to go at every junction and roundabout, so turned the voice off ages ago.

    I can now have conversations with others in the car or listen to the radio without interruptions!

    Steve :Smile:
     
  5. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    8,211
    Location:
    NW England
    Sorted - it needed a reset. None of the POI data was lost either.

    I prefer having the voice on just to remind me when I'm approaching turns and exits after a long straight section.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. BritStops

    BritStops Trader BritStop Owner

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Cambs
    Hmm, yes, have missed a couple of those, I must admit! :Blush:

    Still, glad you've got it sorted.

    Steve :Smile:
     
  7. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    This year on the way to Spain,
    I had bought a new Snooper I also had on my old Garmin on to compare , the Snooper was showing around 5 Miles further back than we where, the Garmin kept on trying to taking me on lesser roads, and Lynn had the windscreen wiper on her side missing due to a snow fall of the front of the van so had a salted up screen and couldn't tell me where we were , but we got there . Pete :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page