Multimo Sat Dish (New Sky footprint)

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Biggles, Mar 15, 2014.

  1. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex
    Hi All

    How has the new Sky footprint affected users of the Multimo Dish?

    Thanks
     
  2. bobandjanie

    bobandjanie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Location:
    UK / Spain
    It will be better coverage than before in the UK, when we get back we only use a cheap aldi suitcase dish, I did have a arcon similar to the multimo and very easy to set up.:thumb:

    But outside the UK I would say you need bigger. :Eek!: Bob.
     
  3. chrissyvine

    chrissyvine Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Devon
    Satellite Tv in Spain

    Campers in Denia, Spain managed to get some tv programmes with their Multimo dish by connecting to Astra 1 but no-one now gets BBC or ITV on Astra 2E unless they have minimum dish of 1.2 metre and even larger in South. I have a roof mounted Oyster and a Freesat box and get Sky and CNN news plus some CBS channels + Pick. The new satellite has a twin beam and all main channels have switched to the Uk beam. Only the Northern part of France will pick up on the UK beam, South of this we are on the Pan European beam and have very limited TV coverage now. Internet companies are already starting to offer packages for ex-pats living here as UK TV via the Internet is now the only option in most of Europe. :
     
  4. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex
    So, just how far South and East will the standard Multimo work with a Sky subscription? For the foreseeable future (this is on the boat) the furthest north and East would be the Netherlands and East Belgium. I suspect it will work fine there but as we move South, this is where I see the problem.

    The reason I ask is because I am thinking of getting a duel LNB for the boat and using the single LNB one on the MH as we move about.
     
  5. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    A well aligned 80/85cm dish should just about get BBC ITVs in Denia - I can in Gandia.
    A 90x100cm dish will also be on the limit in the Valencia / Costa Blanca North area
    a 100x110cm dish is fine in the Valencia / Costa Blanca North area

    You should be able to get all channels on Astra 1s on a 60cm dish - as Astra 1s are designed for European coverage.

    Depends on the size of dish and where you are.

    The European beam carries many of the less popular free channels (true movies etc) and many of the SKy pay channels. But no BBC ITV C4s Fives.

    They have been offering them for a year plus - many on the basis of lots of BS - including saying NO UK TV at all in all of Spain - ignoring the fact that based on Astra 2F we kind of knew there would still be some coverage in Spain - and even today, even when we can still receive UK TV on a well aligned 90x100cm dish, they continue with their BS to sell their lower quality internet systems...
     
Loading...

Share This Page