Mph to kph

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by kelv, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    When driving abroad in my motorhome I have trouble seeing the tiny red kph on my speedo fiat based cab do other funsters have the same problem or is there some sort of sticker you can buy to put over the top of the mph? Or maybe I should buy some 2 inch thick glasses
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    No I use one of these
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    I just set my GPS to show the speed in Kph, much more accurate than the actual speedo. It also shows the max speed for most roads but that is not always correct.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  4. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    4,724
    Location:
    Guisborough
    We have MPH overlay on the KPH speedo but I just look at the say nav and that gives me the speed limit as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. trekkin

    trekkin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Why not use your sat nav.

    Tom Tom, if you set units to km it will display your speed in km/h

    Adrian
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    Techno 100 The one in the pic the mph are still larger than kph
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    You can always fit a KPH dial before going abroad
     
  8. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    4,724
    Location:
    Guisborough
    OK just realised the OP wants to read the speedo in KPH, buy a LHD would be one suggestion or as suggested above set your sat nav to KPH.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    Sounds like fitting a dial would be a large job just thought it might be possible to stick one over the glass and remove on return
     
  10. BreweryDave

    BreweryDave Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Torre Del Mar - Malaga
    Kelvin - just do a Clarkson and change the plates when you go abroad !!!
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    5 to 10 minutes to swap once you've done it for the first time.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    Wow 5 mins sounds ok I will look into sourcing one or I may have have to change plates like Dave says if I keep having late night parties with funsters
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. rangitira

    rangitira Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    12,414
    Location:
    Cornwall
    1kph = 5/8ths of a mile

    so!

    30 mph=50kph

    50mph= 80kph

    4.55 litres = 1 gallon

    Ergo 22litres = 5gallons

    Seemples innet?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Mine is for sale. It is from a 2008 3 litre Ducato. I changed mine to the dual dial as I posted.
     
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,857
    Likes Received:
    14,508
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I gues you have this format?
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  17. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    Yes that's the one
     
  18. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,337
    Likes Received:
    21,682
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    A quick rough and ready that I use ( helps pass the time too ! )
    divide by 6 and times by ten.. Not dead on but close enough
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. kelv

    kelv Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    leicester
    I am sorry I was speeding for the last ten minutes it's taken me that long to divide by 6 and add 10
     
    • Like Like x 5
  20. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    Stretford
    Is there anything you don't know techno or got for that matter(y)
     
Loading...

Share This Page