Moving data from one external hard drive to another

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Road Runner, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    I have to transfer some data from one hard drive to another is it possible without loading all the data in to the computer and then moving it?
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Are these both external hard disks in caddies John?

    USB?

    If so they will just create 2 new drive letters.

    What size 2.5 " or 3.5" and IDE or SATA?

    Sorry so many questions.

    BTW I use a bit of software called Beyond Compare which is brilliant.Can be used for a short time on trail.We got the registered version.Enabled transfers to carry on from where they left off in case of a problem.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  3. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    It would just be an old 40gb maplins jobby to a 340gb maplins one via my laptop:Doh::RollEyes:
     
  4. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    if both will plug in the laptop you will have two extra drive letters, using windows explorer just drag and drop from one drive to another. good luck may take a while.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    while we're on the subject....is it possible to copy the whole hard drive from a pc to a standalone usb hard drive so the original can be formatted then most files and programmes reinstalled to the original hard drive after being scanned for viruses
     
  6. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,391
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    You can certainly copy the contents of the drive. However, in order to register (within Windows rather than with the publishers) the software properly, programs would have to be re-installed rather than just being copied back. OK to copy the data files back after the disk formatting though.

    Graham
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    cheers graham,
    that was the bit i wasnt sure of.
    some of the progs discs are now lost/unavailable so they may have to be missed out.
    the reason for the reformat is its running so slow due to so many viruses being downloaded over the last few years..(bloody kids, music and vid files all over the place):Eeek:it can take upto 20/25 mins to boot some times and 5/10 mins to shut down.:Doh:

    i'v tried defrag and disc cleanup so many times but it dont really make any difference.

    there are far too many files to check each one as it is but after the format a lot wont be going back anyway.

    BTW john, sorry to hijack your thread.:Blush:
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,391
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    In that case, John, I'm guessing that the software is fairly old. If the software is useful to you it might be worth looking on eBay where copies of older software discs are sometimes available reasonably cheaply.

    Another source to consider is budget publishers like Focus (which I've bought in shops like PC World and Staples in the past). Some of their titles are older versions of "full price" programs which are also reasonable cheap.

    There are also programs available on-line (sometimes free) which can read old files and "translate" them for use by newer software.

    Graham
     
  9. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    I have the 40gb downloaded via XP whereas my new puter is vista will it copy over OK?
     
  10. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    It is possible and we use Ghost for doing exactly that.

    That, apart from using dos, is the only way you're going to get the whole data (including locked system files) on to the other drive.

    We normally use it when a customer is replacing the original Hard disk with a much bigger one.

    Used with PartitionMagic these are 2 very valuable tools.
     
  11. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Yes,

    Both use compatible file formats (FAT32 or NTFS):thumb:
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,391
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I thought about Ghost, Steve, when I replied to John. However, I didn't mention it because I thought that would just replace the original image when John's requirement was to rid himself of unwanted "litter".

    It isn't a program I've used (even though I have a copy which came with an external CD drive) so I'm not sure if I'm correct or not - be interested to read your advice.

    Graham
     
  13. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    We usually get rid of all the Virus' and Spyware/malware first and then Ghost it across to the new drive.

    That's if the customer has lost the original installation disks/activation keys.

    Depends on the state of the drive data etc.John mentions running slow etc.

    You are right though.Corruption and other problems can be copied across.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page