May 3, 2017
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
Considering my options
Exp
None
Hi,

I'm new to all of this motorhome malarky but Mel, my wife, and I have started to look into it and are really excited about the prospect.

A bit of advice on what we should be looking for would be really helpful as our knowledge isn't great.

We are looking for something reasonably spacious with a good sized garage. Part of our use will be towing a lightweight car to race meetings (trailer gross weight 1380kg) hence the requirement for the garage for tools and spare parts. It would generally be just my wife and I travelling but the ability to take our young nephews, aged 7 and 5, for weekend adventures is part of the attraction of getting a motorhome. A good kitchen and bathroom space is important for Mel. We like the look of the Rimor Koala Elite 722 or something similar.

We don't really know how much to spend. We could be tempted by a 10 year old rear wheel drive Transit based motorhome for around £20,000-25,000. Our concern with this is that it might end up being a money-pit in terms of maintenance. Would we would be better off getting something newer/nicer, accept a bit more of a depreciation hit but (hopefully) enjoy cheaper running costs?

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.

Matthew

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
I dont think 10 years is a particular problem as most motorhomes of that age have not seen a lot of miles so will certainly not be worn out, as long as the chassis and running gear gets a good looking at before you part with any money, and buy a good quality Continental van and the bodywork and interior should be OK, certainly ours is over 10 years old now and I don't imagine that it is suddenly going to become a "money pit" but I could be wrong.

Martin

Spud

Free Member
Jan 18, 2015
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Shank's Pony
Exp
Bad
Check out RS Motorhomes.
Spud

BTW, welcome.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements