Sep 15, 2013
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All,
After hiring a few different types of motorhomes over the past few years we have just made the decision to buy a new Globecar Globescout panel van. Obviously, hire vehicles come fully equipped, so we would like to know what we need to buy such as electric cable, hose, gas cylinders, chemicals etc. and the best place to buy them from. For example, I was considering purchasing cable and sockets to make up myself, perhaps a few different lengths. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

We are away for a week so please don't be offended if we don't reply to your advice straight away.

Thanks

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
If you are buying a new one you need to get as much included as possible.

A long and a short cable is a good idea ( 10 + 24m ).

But number one priority is the bottle opener.

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
i think its a personal thing when it comes to kitting out for the first time....

just because you think you need something doesnt mean you actually do.

im sure you will carry stuff you never, or very rarely, use and wish you bought stuff you really need but never bought.

hookup leads....easy to make if you can tell brown from blue and see the L+ & N marking in the plug and socket.
25mtrs is the accepted max length per lead and must not be tightly coiled in use or it could overheat....fully uncoiled is best.

best not to use domestic white flex but buy proper blue or yellow/orange flex of the correct size....2.5sqmm

blue is better suited to very cold temperatures and remains flexible whereas yellow can become stiff.
white will become brittle at low temperatures.

first essential items on your list..........cork screw and bottle opener :thumb:

Upvote 0

2dogs

Free Member
Nov 2, 2011
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Rhythm
Exp
Spring 2012