Motor home standing all winter (1 Viewer)

Andrew1975

Free Member
Jan 6, 2013
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2011
Hi I am just new to motor homing forum and last year purchased my first motor home. I am after some advice about my van standing all winter and is it normal for the battery to totally die ,is it recommended to disconnect the battery or plug in to main all over winter. Can anyone help? Andy

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
The batteries will die if there is a drain on them. Alarms and radios often cause a drain. We have a solar panel on the roof of our van which keeps both topped up most of the year and plugging in the EHU lead for a few hours every now and again deals with any shortfall.

It will depend on the set-up of your van as to whether the starter battery is charged as well as the leisure battery on EHU.

It's a good idea to give the van a run out from time to time. If you can't get away to use it for the odd weekend just have a day out somewhere. We sometimes take ours up the A19 to Dalton Park. It's far enough to give the van a run but not too far as to waste fuel and plenty of room to park.

Other things to do for winter are to fully drain down the water systems and leave taps open. Open cupboards & lockers and lift seat cushions to allow air circulation to prevent condensation/damp.

rainbow chasers

Free Member
Oct 30, 2009
Mid Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Various
Exp
If totally dead, recharge and test the battery. Usually engine batterires will be damaged if they have been left to go totally flat. A newish one, you may well get away with it, older one you won't. Leisures are designed to go totally flat - but not to remain so for long periods - which is usually why they come from dealers needing new batteries!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jun 30, 2010
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
1992 VW Auto sleeper Mono
Exp
Since 2005 this time