Mohawk Battery drain

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by Diabalo, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    While still trying to workout why I have a battery drain of 5 amps I had the floor up to charge the vehicle battery, in the battery compartment there is loose wiring with a black oblong plug on the end that is the same that's on the hab batteries, anyone know what is for? Not sure if it's connected to the vehicle battery as the wire disappears under the floor.

    Waiting for Sargents to get back to me on the 5amp drain
     
  2. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Probably an in-line fuse holder. Pull the cap off & you'll see a fuse inside.
     
  3. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    No it's deffinatly a plug, just wondered what it plugged into.
     
  4. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    661
    Location:
    Sheffield
    any chance of a photo?
     
  5. Theonlysue

    Theonlysue Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Location:
    Essex
    Is it for plug in diagnosis perhaps?
     
  6. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    Hi Sue,

    I don't think so it looks like it maybe to charge the Vehicle battery from something or other, solar maybe, I didn't have time to have a good look to where the wires went. Will have a better look tomorrow.
     
  7. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    On Autotrails for a long time now there is always a socket next to the leisure battery ready to connect a second battery. It usually has a cover over the end to keep it clean. The cable required is available from Sargent or Autotrail.
    As for one being next to the cab battery I am not sure...
    Autotrails have a constant drain but only about 0.2-0.3 amps. 5 amp is big ! Do you have a water heater ? Light on in garage/ lockers ?

    Why did you get the floor up to charge the battery ???? Just plug in the EHU and set the control panel to "smart" and it will do both..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi Dane, could they have been added to enable a direct connection for trickle chargers?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    Hi Tonka,

    No water heater have checked the lights and none on, I have pulled all the fuses one by one and not lost the discharge. It may be a problem with the PSU or the panel giving false info, the panel is reading half waste water but it's empty and I know the panel is not that reliable.

    I realise it will charge using the smart facility setup but I wanted to use my intelligent charger.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Like Like x 1
  11. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London

    As @tonka says - this is exactly as my Tracker is. Autotrail fit the wiring for a 2nd battery and leave a plug for the extra loom. You can buy the extra loom with fitted plug from Autotrail for around £20. There is another company that does them cheaper but alas I dont have a link.

    Also the "brainy" charger just switches between leisure and vehicle battery as it thinks fit. so just plug in the motorhome to mains and it sorts it out.
    Its a straight connect to 2nd battery and plug in loom. :xThumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    MikeD

    I have the second hab battery setup, this is in the vehicle battery box, the plug is the same as the hab battery loom but obviously I can't get 2 vehicle batteries side by side so I wonder what its there for.
     
  13. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    Not sure on a Mohawk but the tracker leisure battery is mounted below the floor in a locker.
    The second extra leisure battery is now mounted above the original in the locker in a vented plastic box. The extra wiring loom for me was long enough so it was just a plug in and clamp to battery terminals.
     
  14. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    On my Mohawk both leisure batteries are in the side locker and connected using what looks like the same type of plug that's in the Vehicle battery box which is under the floor where they are on all Fiat x250 cabs
     
  15. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Possible that is may be a standard harness used by sargent so it covers a variety of van layouts. Call sargent and ask. I know a few vans have to have leisure batts under the front seats etc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    I Brian you could be right I have e-mailed Sargents.

    Good news is, been back up the van and I don't think there is an actual 5v discharge as originally thought as the panel is still showing 5v discharge with both batteries fully charged and on hook up, the panel it's self must have gone cranky, anyone know if you can reset it back to factory default, I suppose Sargents will know.

    Anyway thanks for all the suggestion.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,333
    Likes Received:
    21,671
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,333
    Likes Received:
    21,671
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As a matter of interest.. Are you talking 5 VOLTS or 5 AMPS ?
     
  19. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,333
    Likes Received:
    21,671
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Forget the above.. went back to the top post and it is amps.. :)
     
  20. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    Hi John yes it's amps although I did put volts in one of my reply's, thanks for the link will give that a go and hopefully get a result, if not the panel must have gone boobies up and I will send it off to Sargents for a repair. What happened to good old moving coil meters eh?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Stewart J
    Replies:
    33
    Views:
    2,452

Share This Page