Mixing battery Amp hours question. (1 Viewer)

Jul 4, 2016
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
V-Line 636 Sport
My motorhome battery is 95Ahr, can I add a 120 Ahr in parallel with it? The dealer said it would not work as one battery will rob the other. He said stick with a second 95Ahr unit.

I thought you could add what ever amp battery you want, they are just storage tanks to me. A bit like adding in parallel a 100L tank of water connected a 50L tank of water. Any thoughts on this please?

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Perfectly Ok although recommended to try to have matched batteries it is more important that they should be of similar age as if one is knackered (technical term) it will pull down the good one.

Teuchter

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
IMO if kept charged no problem however if well discharged the terminal voltage of the 95 will eventually fall below that of the 120 one causing it to "try to charge" the lower PD one.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Capacity makes no difference whereas voltage, age and condition do.
If the old battery is failing, even slightly, it will effect the overall capacity and performance of both.
Connected together the pair simply become one larger battery albeit in two seperate casings.
You cannot overcharge the lesser one and undercharge the larger one.
Its just the same as putting four batteries in a torch except in that case you increase the voltage, not the amperage.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
IMO if kept charged no problem however if well discharged the terminal voltage of the 95 will eventually fall below that of the 120 one causing it to "try to charge" the lower PD one.