mini sky box

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by xjrchris, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. xjrchris

    xjrchris Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    bath
    Hi,im thinking of getting a satellite for my van,as i have not got much room for a full size sky box ,i was wondering if anyone is using a mini sky box ? There are so many on ebay that im not sure which one to get,
    any info would be appreciated,
    chris
     
  2. Chipster

    Chipster Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    East Midlands On Sea
    Yep. Use a multiroom box on its end. Freesat from Sky card. Twin lnb sat with one to sky box the other to the freesat tuner on the telly so we're covered when not on hook up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,322
    Likes Received:
    21,569
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    There is only one true small Sky box, and that is the Pace 12 volt jobby

    There are LOADS of free to air sat boxes and all are more or less the same..

    If you have a Sky card though you will need a 12v Pace box or as suggested, a standard Sky box up on its side or end and a 240 supply of some sort
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    517
    GET A 12V PACE BOX and use your sky card (if you have one) from home. You will get almost all the channels, unless you are going further South than France. Take Scrabble with you after that.

    colyboy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. JohnM

    JohnM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    I use a pace 12v sky box i beleive they are no longer available ?.
     
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,323
    Likes Received:
    7,578
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    They are at least 10-12 years old now... !
    I took them out of Sky storage back in 2005 as reboxed units.
    So only available as second hand on ebay etc...
     
  7. Foghorn Leghorn

    Foghorn Leghorn Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Dumfries and Galloway
    Not entirely True , many scrambled subscription channels are available on the Pan European Beam which is available across Spain and Portugal without the need for a huge dish
     
  8. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,199
    Likes Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Dorset
    the pace javelin still makes good money second hand on ebay, think £40+
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    If you have a Sky Subscription you will not be able to use the card outside the box it is paired to. After 48/72 hours out of box it will scramble channels until returned to paired box. Multiroom works, but sometimes they need a telephone connection to check they are with main paired box.
     
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,199
    Likes Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Dorset
    apparently you can pair your skycard to a new box online so no need to even ring customer services
     
  11. Foghorn Leghorn

    Foghorn Leghorn Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Dumfries and Galloway
    Mine doesn't , we use our subscription card in a Thompson 240v box at home (we have the family package )and in our 12 volt pace javelin when were away and it always works .
    Have done for the last 5 years
     
  12. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Yes you are correct as thats how many of the "cad sharing" sites do it, however very soon 2015 the older boxes like yours will no longer update the cards, this is sky's way of getting you to upgrade. Many of the HD channels will not work/clear now and in 2015 unless it is the newer box no HD channels will clear. Thats way I hate Sky...........
     
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,322
    Likes Received:
    21,569
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    We dumped the HD package ages ago.. No point unless you have HD eyes to match!
    We do not bother with the film channels nor the sport crap..
    We do have the full entertainment package and the card works just fine taken straight from the 'normal' Sky box and shoved in the Pace one without any need to change box ID or anything.
    I spoke to a Sky rep about the proposed changes and was assured they will not affect me at all
     
  14. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    They will affect you, Sky is killing all the older boxes........ time will tell.
     
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,322
    Likes Received:
    21,569
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Indeed..
    The 12v Pace was killed off BY SKY ( at least by their insistence ) as there is no way to control it.. There is no switching circuitry in the things.. That is why you cannot buy a new stock 12v Pace any more and have not been able to for many years
    I am perfectly happy and can see no reason it will affect what I, and thousands of others do.

    Even if they do manage to to do something clever, I will simply modify a standard box by removing the on board 220v PSU and fitting a small voltage amplifier inside the thing that can give me 12v, 5v and 15v which is used to feed and switch the LNB from V to H :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. edriver

    edriver Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Spain
    Bloody hell Jaws!! What language is that!! LOL
     
  17. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,322
    Likes Received:
    21,569
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    That sir, is official gobbledegook !
     
  18. edriver

    edriver Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Spain
    Brilliant conversation killer though. Ten out of ten for it!
     
Loading...

Share This Page