Miles covered per year

Discussion in 'Full Timers' started by GetawayGerry, Apr 2, 2009.

1. GetawayGerry

GetawayGerry Read Only Funster

Hi all
    I am new at this so will have loads of questions.

First one is that I am trying to calculate the costings involved with doing a runner! Plan to tour Europe for about 8 months a year. If you are a full timer what sort of mileage do you do a year?
    Obviously I know this will vary wildly but it would give me an idea.
    Thanks

2. Stephen & Jeannie

Stephen & Jeannie Read Only Funster

just do it !!!!

How long is a piece of string ? What are your aims in life ? are you single, do you have animals in tow ?..... The aires in France are free or very cheap, the France passion site is worth a look, if you are in one place for any length of time then discounts kick in, you could get a job on a site over there doing cleaning or office work ! the prospects are endless !!! If, like me you are over 60 then if in Portugal and you use the Orbitur chain of campsites then you get a "wrinkly" discount as well....JUST DO IT, and learn as you go on !! once you have paid for your diesel or petrol to get down south then 5 miles from place to place is as good as 50 miles from place to place !!!! BTW, welcome to the fun !!! :Rofl1: :Rofl1: :Rofl1:

3. GetawayGerry

Miles

I knew that I would get the "how long is a piece of string" bit. I understand that but in doing my budget you need to pay for the trip. I looked up the distance between London and Malaga and found it to be 1500 miles so there and back 3000 miles. well that is obviously too low. Is 12,000 miles a year to low? I really dont know. So I thought I would ask forum members how many miles they did per year to give me an idea.

4. Jim

Jim Ringleader

It's too difficult a question really, some full timers don't do any miles at all. some do more than 20,000. somewhere between those extremes is your answer:BigGrin: