Mifi

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by veevee, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. veevee

    veevee Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Essex / central France
    What's considered the current best mifi device at the moment?

    Thanks
     
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Curry's: mifi on EE for 9.99 with 2GB sim card. Steal......
     
  3. s20hymer

    s20hymer Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Cant find it on their website, which branch is it in please
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Got mine in Thetford last month
     
  5. veevee

    veevee Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Essex / central France
    Thanks DQ, looking for the best quality for range and usability rather than price high or low. That's not to say the one you mention isn't excellent. Have you used it in a difficult location yet?
     
  6. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I am not saying that it is the best MiFi unit but I use a Huawei E5336. I bought it from Amazon 'unlocked' and have used it in UK, France and Spain with various operator SIMs. It does have a limitation for some in that there is no connection for an external antenna. In areas of weak signal I position it up in the rooflight and it works a treat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Yes used all over UK right now and in most cases get 4G. I have also unlocked it to use my 3UK sim and works a treat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    10,181
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    Apologies for hi-jacking @veevee , but could somebody please explain "unlocked" to a mifi ignoramus?
     
  9. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,223
    Likes Received:
    9,604
    Location:
    Dorset
    some phones and mifi's are "locked" to be used with just one provider like EE. if you want to use a sim from say 3 then the phone or tablet needs to have the software on it altered to allow it to work
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    10,181
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    cheers @TheBig1 ; I expect you have to pay for the privilege?
     
  12. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    14,003
    Location:
    UK
    This is the one I am ordering next week..
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00FFXRTJW/ It is unlocked, Handles 3G and 4G and has 2 antenna ports for a Mimo antenna. It was recommended to me by a friend who uses it all over the UK doing consultancy work for internet companies.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    14,003
    Location:
    UK
    I have just noticed Amazon are selling a new model of this.
    E5377s-32

    I am going to look into it and see if it has all the features I need. Currently using an E5332 which is 3G only and want to move up to one with dual MIMO antenna and 4G support when available. The E5332 has been excellent for me for a couple of years now.
     
  14. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,223
    Likes Received:
    9,604
    Location:
    Dorset
    not necessarily some providers will give you the access code free, otherwise they charge more than the man down the market. best value if you really have to pay are sellers on ebay
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. veevee

    veevee Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Essex / central France
    Gromett, I'd be pleased if you could come back to this thread with your decision on which one and why would be helpful.

    Didn't explain that my usage would be 50% UK and 50% Europe usage if that makes any difference to the original question.

    Thanks again
     
  16. cbrookson

    cbrookson Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Suffolk
    I've got the older 3G version of this. It's not cheap, but with two antennas it works really well. Both mine are separated and put in the fibreglass roof of the Hymer - that way you get some 'diversity' in the antennas and stand a better chance. Of course it takes any SIMs - in fact it takes two!
    Cheers
     
  17. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    14,003
    Location:
    UK
    I have been looking into this and the biggest difference I could find was that the 72 doesn't support the 5Ghz wifi and the 77s-32 does. This I don't believe will make much difference in motorhome use but worth having non the less in my view.

    I think I will now be going for the 77
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00OZLP6C2/
     
  18. veevee

    veevee Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Essex / central France
    Thanks a lot, and see you have chosen the black model too.
     
  19. veevee

    veevee Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    540
    Location:
    Essex / central France
    Thanks Charles.

    Different question for you. How long is your S 700 in real life? We were in Ireland last week and found our 6.6m S 670 just fitted snuggly into motorhome designated parking bays, any longer would have had to park elsewhere.
    Been thinking of a later B 700 at 7.4m but it does look a tad long for practical use, any opinion?
     
  20. cbrookson

    cbrookson Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Suffolk
    About 7.5m with the big tow bar and cycle rack. We've not found it a problem, it's shorter than a car towing a caravan!
    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page