Mifi not connecting

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Dave and Ginny, Oct 9, 2016.

  1. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Parked up near Caen having arrived off the ferry a little while ago. Connecting on my phone with '3' sim on a network called 'Free' with 3G on data but mifi with '3' data sim doesn't want to know. It's displaying signal and same 'Free' network but no 3g. I did activate roaming on account before I left UK and data roaming is on. Oh, where I would normally see 3 or 4g displayed is the letter R in a little box.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    3,135
    Location:
    Beds
    Check that the roaming is still enabled on the wifi's control panel. You may need to tick it again (and every time you connnect) or click on other options once on the panel. My settings did not remain when I logged off my wifi.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    APN setting....!
    Somewhere on here is the info but I am having net connection issues at present and got my PC out of action... Do a search on here if you can.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    448
    R = roaming.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    With some time on my hand after arriving just south of Tours I've had another fiddle. I don't know why, but my TP-Link mifi would not let me change the APN. By changing to a manual search for a network I was able to though as it then prompted me to input APN...the one that then worked was three.co.uk.

    Thanks for help, it had me looking in the correct place!
     
  7. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    9,889
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Free is rubbish in France
    Best to turn off 'Automatic Network Selection' and manually select Orange Fr or Bugouyes
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I'm connected to Bugouyes and it's a fairly fast 3g (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page