mifi help please

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by PORKSTER, Aug 31, 2015.

  1. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    I thought things where going to good I am tottaly rubbish at this techie stuff but i decided to unlock my Vodafone mifi to use a three sim. I obtained new three sim and an unlock code and managed to unlock the mifi BINGO I thought but now I have troubles. I can connect to the mifi no problems but i cant open the three site I just get the vodafone dashboard I will try adding photo of page I get and cant go on from.
     
  2. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Try connecting to this site if it is a huawei mifi 192.168.1.1, log into settings using the password 'admin', then 'dial up, network settings on manual, profile set to 3UK and APN 3internet
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    I'm getting this far thanks matamoros ill give it a whirl
    Screenshot_2015-08-31-19-43-22.png
     
  4. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,582
    Likes Received:
    11,571
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    It is possible it has connected using a 3 PAYG APN instead of the monthly one, or vice versa depending on what you have. Or, the 3 sim has not been activated or has no credit if PAYG.

    Try the sim in a phone if you have an unlocked one and see what happens. You could also try ringing 3 of course.

    But read the mifi instructions as it may not be set to autoconnect and there is another page you need to navigate to to get it to connect.
     
  5. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    the sim is the prepaid 3gb one so should be ok
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    3 are extremely funny regarding tethering.

    I put my 3 payg sim in my mifi unit and shortly got a curt message on my tablet along the lines....OI ! put the sim back in a phone...we dont allow mifi tethering.
     
  7. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Have you activated the sim online at 3 ?
     
  9. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    4,795
    Are you using a data sim or a phone sim? You can ONLY use a data sim in a MIFI
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,156
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The 3 SIM I got was a waste of space, never got a good connection here or abroad. Just bought an EE one. Perfect 4G at home, but will it work on the road ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I've used mine through Spain and France with admittedly variable results but always got a connection on one network or other.

    Currently getting speeds up to 11 mps on 3G on site in Heywood , I can see the mast from here though :)
     
  12. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,960
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    Obviously need new glasses
    Keep reading thread title as
    "MILF help needed"
    :eek:
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    nope looking into that now
     
  14. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    that i could deal with
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,582
    Likes Received:
    11,571
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I looked at EE after someone visited here and got a 4g signal which was a surprise as other networks struggle here. Then I looked at their charges for use in Europe - an eye watering £4 to £5 a day! I'll stay with my 3 PAYG for the moment when in France or Spain.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    That'll be why then.....phone sim with airtime credit only.
    1p per mb
    2p per text
    3p per minute
     
  17. PORKSTER

    PORKSTER Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Sussex coast
    I give up thats a few hours of my life I will never get back
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. Dorwyn

    Dorwyn Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    somerset
    For what it is worth I could not connect at my home, poor signal, but have connected easily in Switzerland and in Italy.
     
  19. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,582
    Likes Received:
    11,571
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You could try taking it to a local computer shop. I am sure it can be made to work but at the risk of hindsight, this is where buying from someone who can give good after sales service is invaluable. I bought my mifi from www.motorhomewifi.com and it came already set up for the sim card I bought from them at the same time and they answered my subsequent questions very quickly. @Addie who runs it with his better half is a Funster here.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,750
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I did the same, never got rid of the vodaphone page but it does work on three even so, but when it's working you don't need the page anyway, hth.
     
Loading...

Share This Page