Midge situation in Scotland?!

Discussion in 'UK Touring' started by KatyKate, Jun 17, 2012.

1. KatyKate

KatyKate Read Only Funster

Hi, I'm a newbie, just bought our motorhome a month ago and had our first trip this weekend to the Suffolk coast. We were planning a trip up to Scotland for the last 2 weeks in August but after my first real encounter with midges whilst staying in a cottage at Ullswater over the Jubilee weekend, its put me off a bit! We were wanting to head up the west coast to Ullapool, just wondered if anyone is up that way could you let me know what the midge situation is......?

2. normanandsue

normanandsue Funster

Can vary from day to day but it has been very dry for the last 2 weeks so not a problem at the moment, if it rains and stays warm it could be bad. However buy some Avon Skin so soft and apply liberally - it will do the trick. If you stay close to the sea that will reduce the risk considerably. Have a good trip and enjoy you holiday.
    Norman

3. MHVirgins

MHVirgins

Midges

It was dry where we are today, but no wind, which is just what they like, as well as warm and damp. We were seeing my son and his fiance off around 7.30 tonight and the midges were biting, we had to get back inside before too long:Blush:

Shortly after this I was phoning a friend who lives near Fort William and mentioned the little blighters. She suggested "Smidge" a spray repellant that I hadn't heard of before, she said it was brilliant! It is dearer than the Avon product, but just another idea to try.

Amazon link below for it.

[ame]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Smidge-That-Midge-Insect-Repellent/dp/B00413715E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339972529&sr=8-1[/ame]

4. Viennese

Viennese Funster

5. zaskar

zaskar Funster

As people have said, it can vary greatly. Damp and calm brings them out big time, the slightest breeze and they cant fly.