Microwave

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Scaniaman, Jul 11, 2016.

  1. Scaniaman

    Scaniaman Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    bristol
    Hi can i put a normal household microwave in my camper or does if have to be for motorhome only?
     
  2. Allan & Loren

    Allan & Loren Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    Leyland, Lancashire
    We've a normal combination microwave/grill/oven in ours as the original one broke and to get the replacement from USA was ridiculous. Took some finding to get the right size as ours is built in but I got ours from argos and had no issues with power.
     
  3. Scaniaman

    Scaniaman Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    bristol
  4. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Margate
    We fitted a combi microwave from Tescos. Lasted 5 years and sold it still working in the van. Try and get one 800 watt or under. This means it has a start up inrush current of about 1200 watt. This means it should just be ok on a low wattage site. 6amp or above.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    We have a 700watt one from tesco. I would have liked the combi but was afraid it would be to hot within a cupboard plus the wattage too high for sites abroad.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,602
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    If your going on UK campsites then a cheap supermarket household one is fine..
    Most over here give you a 16 amp supply.
    Problems come when you go to continental sites who only offer a low amp hook up..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. TerryDunlea

    TerryDunlea Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rhyl
    I have modified very many microwave ovens in the pursuit of My Business as An Approved Microwave Service Agent for most of the Worldwide Manufacturers . It is fairly simple to modify a dedicated "microwave only "oven , but it is a far different matter when You take into account "Combi Types " which in the main use resistive Oven elements .Most modified Low Power Microwave ovens can usually be operated on a minimal Supply , eg 6A. But You must take into account the much longer heating times .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. RogerThat

    RogerThat Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    1999 Swift Sundance 590RL. North West, UK.
    Same!

    But mine resides in the bottom of the wardrobe when not in use, it's not 'fitted' in a cupboard as such :)

    (but no issues re power!)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    Not really, our 800W microwave requires an input of 1250W less than 6Amps, never had a problem anywhere.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    7,602
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Where did I mention 6 amps ???? :)
    What if you only got 5..... or 4 ????

    ;)

    Just teasing and I love your low current microwave.. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,493
    Likes Received:
    4,754
    Location:
    Guisborough
    Ours is something like a 700w and never had trouble running it on site hook up even abroad but if there was I would just run it off the inverter and then go back to site power, but to be honest if it won't run a microwave it's not worth paying for if you have solar.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Adrian1
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    255

Share This Page