Free Member
Jul 13, 2011
Lymington
Funster No
MH
Old Autotrail
Exp
I am a newbie
Hi All....i want to buy a mercedes hymer and have been looking for months..I have seen a 1982 hymermobil 540 ,it's got 214000 miles on the clock.I have read that these vans do massive mileages...is there plenty left in this one? ,its got 12 months mot and they are asking 6k ..I reckon i could knock that down a tad,but advice from you more experienced motorhomers would be appreciated...Thanks

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Welcome to the forums!

My mate just picked up 1993 Hymer a-class with 73000miles, albeit on a Fiat chassis for £6000. It was a trade in at a local garage.

I know this doesn't really answer your question, but a 1982 set of wheels is OLD, whatever the make. There is a worldwide recession on and there are a lot of s/h vans to choose from.

Take your time before making any choice!:Smile:

Upvote 0

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
The answer to your question is if its been serviced properly and oil changed at 5000 miles the older Merc engine is bomb proof. At 214000 its just getting going.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jul 28, 2010
The world
Funster No
MH
Small car
Exp
unless it is in as new condition (at this age i do not think it will be) then the asking price is too high.

i have a 1998 American RV and at this age i would say it is OLD
I sold a Mercedes 2.3Ltf 1989 coach bulit in 2009 for £7000 it was in as new condition with loads of upgrades fitted to it

spend your money wisely

Upvote 0

bazP

Free Member
Aug 8, 2011
Stockport
Funster No
MH
Hymer 534
Exp
I am a newbie
Old Hymer

212k and £6k sounds a lot - suggeswt you wait until Dec/ Jan when there will be others about. Just paid £6500 for ny:winky: Hymer with 102k miles on it - my advice, dont rush

Upvote 0

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008