Measuring amps on campsites

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Shuismo, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. Shuismo

    Shuismo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    se london
    Hi,
    I wish to measure the incoming amps as supplied by campsites, I have been told that this is possible using a ac/dc digital clamp metre.
    Thanks
     
  2. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    You have not explained why you wish to measure the current you are drawing, but instead of buying a meter, why not simply sum the total wattage of the items you are using / want to use, concurrently and divide by 230. That will give you the maximum current drawn in amps.
     
  3. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land

    as far as I understand (and that's limited) a clamp meter will only read what you are using and not what is available
    so to find out what the site fuse is set at you would have to set clamp on incoming cable and switch one thing at a time in moho till fuse on site board popped and record highest reading

    as jeanluc says work out your appliances and calculate it

    unless someone knows better
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,906
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yes, a clamp meter will measure amps but will only work if placed over one conductor only...either live or neutral....it wont work if placed around the hookup lead.

    8it will only show the actual amps being used...not what the post is rated at.

    to see what the maximum amp rating of the hookup post is simply look at the posts breaker...it has the amp rating printed on it.
    probably shown as C10 or C16 for a 10 or 16 amp supply.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,099
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    • Like Like x 1
  6. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    we have a similar item fitted to the van on ours you can also set an alarm to go off if you reach a pre set wattage, ours go's off at 2000w which suits most hook-ups saves tripping the post out. again the supplied clamp with these must only be fitted to one conductor we have ours on the live lead where it enters the consumer unit
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Shuismo

    Shuismo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    se london
    Thanks

    Thank you all for the replies, I wanted to check the amperage as sometimes on continental sites we have been told we have 10amps but things keep tripping when we use items of lower amperage including the amps used to operate the running of basic items.
    Thanks again
     
  8. mikebeaches

    mikebeaches Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    629
    Location:
    Bristol
    This year we stayed on a couple of sites in France that only had 3-amp hook-ups. And lots more that were 6 amps. Not really a problem, as long as you know in advance; or you can re-set a trip-out switch yourself. We just use appliances accordingly. :thumb:

    If in doubt, ask at reception.

    Mike
     
  9. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    Get one of those plug in electronic power measuring devices. They are much more accurate than the inductive sensing ones. Some can even measure power factor etc.

    Then plug your motorhome into it. (I guess you have adapters to do this already for when you're parked outside home). This can tell you the amps you are drawing for various configurations.

    I know mine only draws 8.25A or nothing at all. It currently has only one mains appliance, the air conditioner. I'm not sure I'm going to bother fixing the battery charger or the fridge connection as I never use hookup.

    This is the sort of thing I'm talking about:
    http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Electrical/Energy+Saving+Controls/Power+Monitor/d190/sd3205/p90072

    I've got a different model, so can't particularly recommend.
     
Loading...

Share This Page