Mc Donald's Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Larby, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    Location:
    North Essex
    Wanted to send an email recently whilst in Cornwall. Visited the one next to Morrison's in Newquay. The manageress didn't just advise me but set it up for me.
    Went onto Outlook Express, in rolled the emails but I couldn't send. Just kept getting messages saying server may not support SSL or server name or port error.

    Any ideas as I don't get this problem when logged onto other wifi other than my own?
    Is it a system that McD's use that is cauing the problem or some other reason? I tried changing various setting but to no avail.
    Also another McDonald's
     
  2. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    9,577
    Location:
    Dorset
    to explain this in terms that a novice can understand, so no offence intended

    at home your computer connects to your service provider and their own server. therefore your settings are set to look for this server every time you connect, and the server checks you are using your home connection

    try accessing your service providers from say mcdonalds and it cant talk to your computer fully as its on the wrong network. downloading is ok, but you cant send an email because of this

    I've countered this by setting up email addresses using a domain name I own and a paid for server. this means I have full control over how I connect to the server.

    web mail will still work as it uses a different form of connection, so set up a gmail, hotmail or live account and send replies from this instead


    obviously the full description of the issue is more complicated but would confuse most. hope this has helped?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Deckard

    Deckard Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Its easy to bypass - just get an authsmtp.com account - £20 a year - you can re-route through that ...or £12 from 123-reg..

    I prefer authsmtp....

    You can of course get your own domain and sort that out....not for the non-tech folks!!

    OR use gmail...I havent done this in a while - but pretty sure you can validate your send and receive addresses such that gmail will appear as your "me@yourdomain.co.uk"...

    If thats gibberish we may need to write a longer explanation :Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    London
    I must be somewhere below Novice level


    Sorry - but I didn't understand any of it. I must be below novice level :Sad::Sad:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Visit mail2web.com put in your home email and password, send and receive as if you were at home. Works just as well when abroad.

    Steve
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    9,577
    Location:
    Dorset
    sorry, will try again

    your computer talks to the server computer (say BT internet) and has to prove you are one of their customers (using your BT Hub at home for instance)

    if the server gets the wrong answer to its checks, you cant use that connection to send email. it will allow you to get received emails if you get the account name and password right, just not send any

    a simple fix is to sign up for a free email address that is internet based, not from your home broadband supplier. for instance a hotmail address such as somebody@hotmail.co.uk or gmail one somebody@gmail.com. use this to send emails or reply whilst away from home

    a proper fix would be more complex and is beyond this simple explanation
     
  7. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    If you use Gmail it is possible to set up your email client on the computer to sync with Gmail as an IMAP account, rather than POP3. That way you can send mail directly from the mail client wherever you are, rather than using the web / browser version, and retain a copy of sent mail on the computer.
     
  8. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    for this reason thats why i always use gmail web based mail is better can hook onto it from anywhere maybe u can get a gmail account and have ya old mail forwarded to that account
     
  9. june123

    june123 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Staffs
    McD

    Never had any problem with McD but have mostly used French ones.
     
  10. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    6,673
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Was at the same location Newquay couple of weeks back using gmail and yahoo no problem via Mc-D
     
  11. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,545
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Instead of using outlook express just log in to your email account mine is bt so when out and about I just log into them direct and can send and receive emails no probs as did this from McD in France last year when keeping in touch with my parents.
     
  12. Deckard

    Deckard Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    Lancashire
    The problem being experienced is an authentication issue - your broadband provider expects your email to be coming for a certain IP address on its network.....as your not at home, it thinks you are someone else.

    This is common practice by ISP's, helps prevent some methods of spamming.

    In order to get round this you need to have your own "outbox" or delivery system.

    Using something like Authsmtp.com gives you your own delivery "van" - doesnt need to ask BT (or your ISP) for permission to deliver mail and you can keep all your current email addresses (non web e.g. hotmail)

    I just checked gmail and you cannot send from a.n.other pop account (thats your normal email) but you can recieve it; thus picking up mail from fred@bt.com is possible but when you reply it will from from fred@gmail.com
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    1,324
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I am with Virgin (blueyonder) and while at home use the POP3 address but they also have a webmail service which allows me to access my mail as a web based service. It's worth asking your provider if they do webmail.

    Wyn
     
  14. Larby

    Larby Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    Location:
    North Essex
    McDonald's Wi-Fi

    Thank you everyone for your guidance and explanations.

    So, it's clear I can't send from my Orange Outlook via an O2 Wi-Fi as it is an authentication issue.
    I have opened a Gmail account and have tested sending email to that from my home server and forwarding it back via Gmail.
    So far so good, now to sync the two.
    The problem arose as someone had claimed I hadn't sent them an email, that's why I wanted to be able to send in the first instance as I wished to forward it on as proof.
    I copied it and pasted to an outgoing message and used the Orange webmail facility as Wyn suggested.
    I am passing a McDs on Saturday so will give it a test.
    Need to be ready to tell everyone what a good holiday I'm having in France in August!
     
  15. Deckard

    Deckard Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Your gmail (or hotmail) will work fine from any wi-fi usually; gmail does not authenticate you that way, but via your login and password....so all is good :Wink:
     
  16. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,084
    Location:
    Ipswich
    I use gmail and I can send and receive via my pop email, just tried it.

    Ian
     
Loading...

Share This Page