Maxview Recievers

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by pappajohn, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi,

    does anyone use the maxview sat reciever ?

    are they any good, lot of rubbish ect.

    above all, are they user friendly, editable channel lists ect.

    cheers
    john.
     
  2. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    TRY Maplin ,same unit there reduced to £39 different badge thats all ,and it is easy to use,and its got its built in signal strength meter for setting up your dish,no need for sat finder.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Cheers stagman,

    i had a look at that but wasnt sure if it was the same.

    john.
     
  4. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    Yes its the same,like a lot of things nowadays you pay for the badge,but usually it all comes out of the same factory in China,just with a different sticker on it,£50 for a sticker is a lot in my book,
     
  5. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Maplins never been cheep. Bought an Omnisat Crank up dish at the Newark Show for £345. Maplin selling for £399.:Eeek:

    now that was a piece of cake. Fitted in the morning and sat watching sky movies with a cup of coffee in the after noon.:Rofl1:

    Don
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    now you've p***ed me off. :Angry:

    i bought one at newark also but for £380. who did you buy from.

    i got mine from LCS (think thats right) only found one other, near MHF camp but i couldnt get her to give me a price for dish only (£600+ for dish, reciever and fitting) so went to LCS.

    john
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i had another look at maplins and the only 12v one i could find is completely different to the latest maxview which has a remote infra-red sensor so the box can sit in a cupboard out the way and still change channels ect.

    john.
     
  8. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Same company LCS on the corner opposit the indoors exibit.Just checked the receipt and yes £345:Eeek:. Maxview 66 crank up.
    Dont know why the difference.
     
  9. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    The only problem that I have is, do I use my Sky box from home via an Inverta or a 12 volt Freesat (£39) and just get the free channels.
    As I already pay the sky contract I object to losing out but 12 volt Sky Digiboxes are dammed expensive, or at least the ones I have seen are.

    Don
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi Don,

    whats the freesat box like?

    easy to use, favorite lists ect.

    dont like going thru all the channels to find a particular channel and i cant remember all the channel numbers i want.

    john.
     
  11. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Hi John
    Cant say that I have seen one as I said I have the Sky Digibox. The problem as I understand with Freesat is that you dont get all the Free to Air chanels Most are religious, shopping and radio chanels. you do have all BBC and all ITV but not Chan 4 or 5.If you get a Freesat with the card slot you apply for the free to air card from sky, for a one off payment and that gives most of the encrypted chanels.
    Me, I think that I might wait as BBC are starting up a satellite channel.dont know any other details.

    As my father always said, You pays your money and takes yourchance.

    Good luck

    Don
     
  12. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342

    Maplins have now got the Maxview Crank-up at £349.99

    CODE: A39FK (Price valid until 29th April)

    Unbadged Maxview Satellite receiver is £39.99

    CODE: A94FJ
     
  13. Bessie560

    Bessie560 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Echolink?

    Have you thought of an echolink 700 or 3020? (do a search on ebay) 45 quid
    Point it at Astra 1 and you get Prem footy and Lots of films
    also good on Hotbird
    Barry
     
  14. stagman

    stagman Deleted User

    Yes got that package works great,astra 1,2,Hotbird and more if you want loads TV and Radio channels,easy to use ,and know it works down to the Dordougne in France.
     
Loading...

Share This Page