Maxview Crankup

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by evans88, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. evans88

    evans88 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Devon
    Thinking about buying a crankup. Got a few questions.

    Does anyone use a satellite finder with a crankup?

    Is it easy to find the Sky satellite without one? Don't particularly want to bend down in a cupboard connecting/disconnecting the sat finder due to bad back.

    Is it possible to get a signal about 60 miles South of Barcelona?

    What about water leaks? Got a ridged panel roof and have to park on my steeply sloping drive. Told its OK to fix a crankup on a ridged roof but I'm afraid the water will get underneath the fixing plate and leak through the 32mm crankhandle hole. I'm looking for reassurance here as I've been plagued by water leaks in my home and in many of the vehicles I've owned.

    Thanks.
     
  2. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Cool: We could get a signal on our 60cm dish 30 miles south of Barcelona. Any further and it may struggle depending on the weather conditions.

    It can be easier with a Meter/Buzzer. But not impossible. Just takes a little longer. Provided you know where you are and where you should be pointing the dish. The rest is just patience.
    BTW. We have a Winguard which is similar to the Maxview. :Wink:
     
  3. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    with a compass it's possible.

    Better spend say £10 on ebay and get a meter.

    Yes it will pick up UK station there.

    They are in my view the bees knees
     
  4. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi Snelly on here & the other side sells em / swears by them :Wink: says he's cheaper than anyone :thumb::Rofl1::Rofl1: don't have any reason to doubt him only read praise :thumb:
    terry
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,458
    Likes Received:
    16,888
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi evans88,
    i use a maxview crankup and its one of the better things i'v bought for the van.:thumb::thumb:

    you should have no probs with water ingress so long as you make sure all the ridges are filled with sikaflex plus the handle hole has its own seal as well.

    as for the signal meter.......i use one and i just leave it in-line all the time. :thumb:
    once its locked on to the satallite (usually a couple of minutes work) i just turn the sensitivity knob down low so the audible warning doesnt sound. yes...you still have to adjust the sensitivity to get the best signal but at least you dont have to connect it every time.
    you can lock-on without a meter but it could take a long time as the adjustments are very small and there is a slight delay between moving and checking signal.:Sad:

    the satalite is 26ft tall by 7ft wide but is over 100miles up so it aint that easy to find.:Eek!:

    Spain..........no idea, havent used it abroad yet.

    go for it....:thumb::thumb:

    john.
     
  6. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Just a quick word on sealing,metal to metal =sikaflex / metal to plastic - f/glass you will need either low modulas silicon or better still l/m silicon & GP Mastic to form a double seal ie outer silicon & a inner seal of mastic sort of belt & braces :thumb::thumb::BigGrin:
     
  7. nomad

    nomad Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mirfield West Yorkshire
    Hi evans88,
    I use my Maxview in Spain and Portugal and can always receive Sky news and BBC parliament etc, but as for channels 1-4 they are mainly not available past Barcelona without a larger dish except for the Lisbon area and northern Portugal where its sometimes possible to get them. I think Channel 5 is possible elsewhere but I never watch it. I always leave my meter inline but its just an analog and makes no noise.
    Colin
     
  8. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi, as far as I know you get a meter with them, I certainly did. As above I leave it in line but turned down. On approaching a site we watch the local houses or the wardens accomodation. see which way their dish is pointing and you have a good start point. Often there is someone on site with a dish. It doesn't matter what kind of dish It's the same satelitte. As long as there are no trees too near the line of sight you'll be fine, dead easy. :thumb:
     
  9. evans88

    evans88 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Devon
    Thanks very much for the helpful replies. I did'nt realise you could leave the satellite meter inline. That's great news.
     
  10. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    You may find a small loss of signal which in the UK won't be a problem but could make a difference in S Spain. I always disconect mine when down there.

    As an alternative another sat. reciever like Silvercrest which I find much easier to use. It gives you almost instantanious signal strength, much faster than a Sky box. They are sold by Lidl from time to time
     
  11. evans88

    evans88 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Devon
    Keith. Is the Silvercrest Lidl box "free to air"? If so what programmes can you receive on it.

    I'm attracted to Sky because I've got an unused spare Pace Box which I can use with my card from my home HD box. (MY HD box is too big to fit in my van.)

    I know I won't be able to receive the premium channels I understand that the freesat channels will be available. However, if there is something better I'm all ears.

    All replies so far have been very helpful. Thanks.
     
  12. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    I got mine at one of the M/H shows. Love it!!!!. I have an audible sat finder left in line, buzzer has on off switch. but I have always found it easy to set up. Going South in two weeks and cant wait to see how far South I can get a signal.:Rofl1:
     
  13. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    The Silvercrest box is a fully functional sat. rec. that can get not only Astra 1 & 2 but other satellites like Hot Bird Eutilsat etc. I use mine linked to my Sky box ( it has a second F connector) so I can tune with the Silvercrest then switch to Sky if I want their channels as I have a subscription card, though no premium channels. The Silvercrest will get some English channels on other sats but they are mostly Foreign ..... but on long dark Spanish nights anything can be interesting :Rofl1::Rofl1:

    We get some Sky down to SW Portugal on one of the suitcase sets. :thumb:
     
  14. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    You will get a signal all the way to the SW of Europe, but only if you change to the South beam on a Sky box.

    The best place to get info. is at HERE
     
  15. adventure

    adventure Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somerset
    (Hi, as far as I know you get a meter with them)

    sorry but you only get a compass in the kit :BigGrin:

    (Hi Snelly on here & the other side sells em / swears by them says he's cheaper than anyone)

    Sorry again but he is not, :BigGrin:

    Fitting a crankup to a ribbed roof is a doodle if you have fitted over 30 in the last year.

    I would go for the free to air 12v box from maplins with a built in sat finder makes finding the satellite a doddle and you can link through to your sky box.

    regards

    nick
     
  16. evans88

    evans88 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Devon
    Nick.

    Thanks for that. Which one of these Maplin boxes below do you recommend sat finder wise. I would prefer one that is linked to the mains. This is all very confusing for my non technical mind.

    Maplin > Sateliite Receivers
     
  17. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    Yep as above I have the 12V Maplin jobbie with built in audiable tuner. Great bit of kit and not much bigger than a VHS tape.
     
  18. RichardnGill

    RichardnGill Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durham
    The Pace Sky box is one of the best Sky boxs you can get for poor reception areas and it is also very fast to react.

    I Use a Pace mini box as its 12V and with Pace boxs you can use a Sky card for all the mixes even if its not paired to the box.

    Which means that if you can see the TV from where you adjust the dish you should be ok without a meter. I have a meter and very rarely use it. Yust moover the dish rom East to South very slow and as long as your elevation is ok you will get Sky first time. That's all I do and most of the time I can get a good signal in leass than a minute.

    Richard...
     
  19. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    got a compas and a meter wth mine :thumb:
     
  20. evans88

    evans88 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Devon
    Thanks. But which is the most appropriate Maplin box - see link on my previous post - to pair up with a Pace Skybox (not minibox). Because of limited battery space I want a mains box (not 12v).

    I'm inclined towards getting an additional box because I might get better satellite coverage from other satellites the further south I go.

    I'm on a very steep learning curve here so help very much appreciated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page