maps.me again.

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by seanoo, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi all , i love the app but i can only seem to get one english speaking voice on it and it is an australian! how do i get a different voice or download one and add it to the app. i have tried selecting one in my tts settings on my iphone but it doesnt seem to make any difference. i can change it to another language no problem just not a uk english accent! cheers sean
     
  2. ceejayt

    ceejayt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    York
    Which app?
     
  3. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    title sort of gives it away lol ! maps.me is the app
     
  4. ceejayt

    ceejayt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    York
    Doh!!!!
     
  5. ceejayt

    ceejayt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    York
    I thought it was

    Maps, me again
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Not having a lot of sense out of this on iPad , downloaded it to get the search for sites thingy, but when you zoom in it says I have to download another map, and France is all in bits you have to download seperatly, think I shall have to kick it into touch:(
     
  7. alanalmoff

    alanalmoff Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    March
    Persevere !!!
    The downloads don't take to long, it saves a lot of memory if you don't want the whole of Europe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Armytwowheels

    Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    6,384
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Hi Sean

    You have probably done this already but if not, have you followed these instructions?

    image.png
     
  9. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    yep done that , still got some australian voice saying "slide right" instead of keep right . when i first downloaded the app i had a normal english speaking voice then somehow its changed to this. it uses the tts voices on your device but i cant get it to change !!! i have now downloaded all my maps from maps.me and saved them on my laptop so i'm thinking of deleting it and redownloading .
     
  10. Armytwowheels

    Armytwowheels Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    6,384
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Ok, is your device set to English UK?
    image.png
     
  11. travelbunyip

    travelbunyip Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Australia
    Ga,day cobber mate, nothing wrong with an Aussie accent.
    I do know what you mean, we had an aussie on our Tom Tom for awhile and it even drove us crazy.
    We now have Kathy, very cute and sexy voice. Good luck.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    your right , nothing wrong with your accent at all but its just the "slide right" that i cant get on with lol.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page