MacBook Pro using as a sat nav ?

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by scotjimland, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I would like to use my Mac with a GPS reciever.. and maps... the same way I used my Windows laptop with Autoroute, not as a primary sat nav but an aid for navigation , plotting routes, POIs etc ..

    I will use my Garmin Nuvi for driving instructions..

    As I understand, the Mac does not have a GPS chip but tracks by triangulation of mobile phone transmitters..

    Some years ago I used my 17" Powerbook and Route 66 maps with a USB GPS reciever.. both now out-dated and don't work on the Intel mac.

    so ...

    what mapping software and GPS receiver work with OSX ?

    anyone with a MacBook Pro doing this already ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  2. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,582
    Likes Received:
    11,571
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    • Like Like x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  4. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    • Like Like x 2
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    bump..

    so no one with a Mac uses it as a Sat Nav ?
     
  6. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    Also this company make some great mounts, not cheap but specially designed, they have lots of Apple options. Once identified they are available through many online retailers.
    http://www.brodit.com/brodit.html?pn=home
     
  7. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Maybe not what you're looking for (knowing me!) but there is a Mac version of Garmin BaseCamp that uses the same map software as your Nuvi and can transfer routes back and forward between them.
     
  8. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Surely it's too big to sit on the dash? And if you are only using it for route planning etc and not whilst actually travelling then why do you need it to have GPS? I would have thought Google maps or even at a push Apple maps would be perfectly adequate.

    Not intending to knock your idea, just curious about what you're looking to achieve?
     
  9. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Suffolk
    I use Apple maps on my MacBook Air and also harming base camp if I want to plan various routes. However, I usually do that straight into the Garmin 3598 it's very easy to set up a route with multiple destinations or waypoints and save it in the memory
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2015
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    It's not for sitting on the dash.. it's for use by the passenger (navigator) in place of a paper map.. so you know exactly where you are at any given point in time.. and can also be used to plan the next stop or route .. same as I used with Route 66 and the Power book and also with my Windows laptop and Autoroute ..

    Google maps only work with a data connection.. as do Apple maps .. by triangulation.. I want mapping software that works with a GPS receiver..

    I already use Base camp.. on Mac and PC ... this is not the same as using the Mac as a Sat nav aid..


    Think Windows and Autoroute with a GPS reciever.. I want this for Mac .. and it looks like a fruitless search.. so much for progress.
     
  11. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Doesn't your sat nav tell you exactly where you are at any given time? Our Garmin does.

    Just wondering what benefit you would get, given you already use basecamp and presumably use the Garmin when your driving
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2015
  12. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
  13. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,861
    Likes Received:
    76,262
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    We used that set up for travelling Europe. It was superb A regular satnav, but also on Siâns lap or on the dash, a Windows laptop running Autoroute. It gave us our location with the red dot, but it also gives us the big picture, enabling us, without using paper maps to see what we are missing just off route, and we can easily see if the satnav is routing us anywhere dodgy as well as spot villages and towns not shown on the satnav so we can pull off for lunch or an explore. I will be interested if you find a solution for the Mac.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .

    thank Jim.. someone who understands where I'm coming from.. and hopefully going to .. :LOL:

    if I find a solution will certainly post .. (y)
     
  15. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    I get it now. I'd never thought of doing that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. oldfozzie

    oldfozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    • Like Like x 1
  17. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    Thats exactly what we do but with 2 Android devices feeding from one GPS. Hence my posts, and searching for the apple equivalent.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ah. Penny now dropped, thank you.
     
  19. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    Just had a bit of a read and as far as I can make out you should be OK with pretty much any mapping. All the device does is add GPS capability to whatever you connect it to so Google Earth or Apple Maps or any other mapping that supports GPS should see it.

    One thing to be aware of if you want logging: On the GNS2000 in DBKs link the log files can only be accessed through a bit of software that you get from GNS and is Windows only :doh:
     
  20. Abacist

    Abacist Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Location:
    Devon
    There is an App for the iPhone and possibly other Apple kit whereby you can track yourself on downloaded maps so that you are not incurring data charges downloading map data while you are using the system. Whether it has any potential for what you want to do I'll leave it to you have a look. I think you need to buy the maps you need and go from there.

    The MapApp on iTunes but there website is:-

    http://www.riseburn.com/themap
     
Loading...

Share This Page