Mac questions

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by olley, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi girls and guys, just a few questions for you mac gurus.

    The G4 has been delivered to work where I am now, just done quick hardware test and all seems OK. Then had a look at hardware, memory 512mb is listed as standard, 1024mb is reversed? is this normal?

    I assume just basic op. is loaded, so do I just insert tiger update and follow instructions and that's it?

    Olley
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .

    Hi Olley

    Yes to both questions , good luck

    Jim
     
  3. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Hi Olley

    Great news its arrived safely. After booting up, click on the Apple logo in the top LH corner - it will show you basic info, and you can click on software update from that screen - if you are connected to the internet it will check all apple software and offer to update it for you. Just click yes and leave it to do its stuff. It will also show what OS it is running, ie 10.4 (Tiger) or 10.5 (Leopard) The "System Information" tab will give full info on everything that's installed in the laptop.

    You do not need to install all Tigers updates in order to install Leopard - my only reservations about installing Leopard at this early stage, is that there are some printer / scanner issues, also some software issues with utility software like Disk Warrior. It'll be sorted eventually, but I've held off installing Leopard on Jen's G5 with all her uni stuff until Leopard's teething probs are all sorted by Apple.

    I'm online at present so feel free to post / PM if I can help.

    Regards

    Laurie
     
  4. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Laurie just waiting for it to finish doing a long hardware test, then I will install "Tiger"

    All seems in very good nick, nice and clean with very few minor scratches, guy obviously looked after it.

    Olley
     
  5. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Hi Olley, That's been my experience with "pre-loved" Mac sales - much larger initial investment from the first owner, specialised use usually, in much better nick when sold on than a normal PC laptop. I suppose there are rip-offs out there, but luckily so far not had a problem with used Mac hardware.

    Very easy to connect to Internet as well - either wired or wireless via Airport. No funny business!!:Cool:Set up is a cinch.

    Laurie
     
  6. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    hi Laurie software version already loaded is 10.5, which I think looking at the disks is Leopard.

    Connected straight up to my wi-fi once I remembered the password.:Doh:

    Olley
     
  7. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    It is Leopard Olley, there is an update out already.

    Laurie
     
  8. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Laurie it asking for a password before it will allow software updates, tried the password reset using the install disc it don't work.:cry:

    Using the mac to type this.

    Olley
     
  9. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Grrrrrrrrrrr after an hour of buggering about I try leaving the password field blank and guess what!! there aint no bl**dy password. Its updating.

    Typing this on the PC. good old bill. :BigGrin:

    Olley
     
  10. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Learning curve Olley, sorry I was elsewhere when you were having hassles.Macs always ask for passwords when anything happens but you can reset whether you want that option or not in the OS - no need to reinstall, go to System Preferences.

    Laurie
     
  11. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Laurie, all ok now, its updated itunes, quicktime and leopard. :BigGrin:

    Anything I should check? does it have a built in virus checker or firewall? if not what's a good free one.

    H/D is 93mb, 81mb left sound about right? created on 15/11/07 so I take it he reformatted the disk then.

    I agree learning curve, thankfully on the surface its very similar to m/soft, underneath its a different story.:Doh:

    I need to play with it as chloe will be asking me how to do this/that and the other, she thinks her old duffer is clever. Well she is a blond.:Rofl1:

    If no one has any objections I think I will get her to join this site, then she can ask you or the others. Cuts the deadwood out of the loop. :Rofl1:

    Olley
     
  12. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi, thought that some time in the future when I renew my PC I might go for a Mac. How would I do with all my files stored on external hard drive e.g. photos, Visio, Word and Excell for example?
     
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Olley

    There is no need for a virus checker, there are no known Mac viruses.

    There is a built in firewall, go to: system preferences, security, firewall, allow only essential services, stealth mode.

    Here are some things to 'play' with to impress
    Explore System Preferences, you can customise the Dock, Appearance, screen saver, desktop etc etc much like you can with Windoze

    Try adding some music, pop in a CD and load it into iTunes.

    Connect your digital camera and download some pics into iPhoto

    Macs are very intuitive and before long you will feel right at home, I'm betting before long you will be looking for one for yourself :Wink:

    I'll be around most of the time if you can't find Laurie :Smile:
     
  14. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Ken,

    Have a look at the Apple site on how to migrate from PC to Mac
     
  15. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Jim, looks like I'll have to factor in cost of mac programs to deal with my files like MS Office and Visio. :cry:
     
  16. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi jim don't want to disagree but this:

    Though fewer viruses have been written specifically targeted the Macintosh OS, Mac viruses do exist. Cross-platfrom threats, such as many of the Office macro viruses, can also be a problem for Mac users. The following antivirus software is well-suited to defending Mac users against the threat of viruses.

    From here: http://antivirus.about.com/od/antivirussoftwarereviews/tp/aamacvir.htm

    Or are they just trying to sell software?

    Olley
     
  17. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Olley,

    All I can say is that in seven years of using Macs, I've never had a virus, nor has any Mac owner I know.. personally I wouldn't waste money on this, Laurie may have a different opinion.

    There is only one piece of software I use for system maintenance called Macaroni from Atomic Bird

    Highly recommended and well worth the ten bucks..
     
  18. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Jim thanks for that, she will be using it in a student environment, whether that makes any difference I don't know??

    Cloning, going to buy her a 160gig off ebay and clone the drive to that, whats the best software for this? I believe you weren't keen on super-duper? The mac is running Leopard.

    Whats the best for chatting and video between pc and mac? been using windows live, but I don't think there's a mac version. Tried skype but it caused ie7 to freeze intermittently.

    Olley
     
  19. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Olley

    Laurie likes Supa Dupa but I got on better with Carbon Copy Cloner

    Make sure you buy a firewire drive, you can't boot up off of a usb drive .

    I bought a 500 gb My Book Western Digital with usb and firewire.

    Chatting you can use yahoo or msn
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2007
  20. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi jim thanks didn't realize that about usb. will get firewire or both.

    Olley
     

Share This Page