M74 extension

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by jabbaman1, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. jabbaman1

    jabbaman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Hi,does anyone know when a satnav update will be available for the M74 Extension,my satnav freeks out everytime i drive on it,thanks in advance,jabbaman:Doh::Doh::Doh:
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    no idea, just turn the sound off, it will sort itself out when back on a recognised road.
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,450
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Let me guess - you've got a TomTom :Smile: Same thing happened with the re-routing of the A1 around Ferrybridge. Took them years to get the mapping sorted out. One reason I bought a Garmin instead :Smile:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    My maps have never been updated, but i know if i'm on a new road it will eventually rejoin the old road, (Ferrybridge/A1 etc) so why worry :RollEyes:.

     
  5. jabbaman1

    jabbaman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    thanks for your reply,it's a navman i have:Smile:,do garmin have regular updates thanks ,jabbaman:Smile:
     
  6. jabbaman1

    jabbaman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    thanks for your reply,it's a navman i have:Smile:,do garmin have regular updates thanks ,jabbaman:Smile:
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,450
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    True, John, but it annoyed me that the road re-alignment had been completed months (more than a year even) before mapping updates were released which still contained the old data.

    :Smile: Navman use the same mapping supplier as TomTom, Tele-Atlas. Garmin use Navteq map data and so far (I've had the unit about 18 months) seem to keep the maps up to date more accurately. I was also able to purchase lifetime map updates for £75.
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    And this, Graham, is the reason i don't buy map updates.

    if the junction i want isn't on the new stretch of road, possibly became an underpass etc. then tomtom will reroute me to a point where i can get to the road needed anyway.
     
  9. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,450
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    True.

    I bet the one thing we definitely agree on is having a printed atlas as well to make sure the sat nav don't take us down some narrow lane :BigGrin:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    got loads Graham...France, Spain, Morocco :Doh::RollEyes:all inherited with the RV but i do have a UK road atlas somewhere. :thumb:

    but common sense says...that road's too narrow or too winding...i also have low bridge warnings on the tomtom.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. jabbaman1

    jabbaman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Thanks will keep that in mind when my wife asks me what i want from santa:thumb::thumb:
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,450
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Hmmm. Offhand I can't think of a Garmin model that has a sledge/reindeer setting :Rofl1:
     

Share This Page