Lr1218 for an eb100 question

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by campa cola, Jul 25, 2016.

1. campa cola

campa cola Funster

Going to buy the specified schaut lr1218 solar unit for my ebl100. I have a dealer fitted second hab battery in my system I am assuming in parallel so does anyone know if this will affect the installation. I am assuming that both batteries will keep charging till full and the lr1218 can manage this as a standard fitting ???
    TIA

2. Xabia

Xabia Funster

I have a two hab batteries setup and when I installed a solar panel I just plugged the LR1218 into the Elektroblok and everything worked perfectly. That was two years ago and the van hasn't needed to put on EHU since.

• Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. campa cola

campa cola Funster

Thanks for the reply, I ordered one, now just need to decide on flexi vs rigid panels and man up to drill a hole through my roof o_O

4. Xabia

Xabia Funster

I'm no expert but aren't rigid panels supposed to be much more efficient than flexible ones?

I too was a bit apprehensive about drilling through the roof but found that I could go through the roof above the Tectower and feed the cables down the back of the fridge through the cupboard under the side seat and then into the underfloor locker where the Electroblok is housed, this is in a Hymer B544SL. It turned out to be a lot easier than I had imagined. Good luck with your installation.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Minxy Girl

Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

Just corrected the phrase for you ... :D

I put a flexible panel on the top of our PVC when we got it last year ... as we have a PVC I didn't have the advantage of straight sides/roof as you do with a coachbuilt so getting the hole through the roof in the right place took a lot of measuring, measuring and measuring again! Thankfully I got it through on the inside exactly where I wanted it! Phew!!!! :rolleyes: