LPG cylinder refill in Europe (1 Viewer)

C

Cat_tap

Deleted User
Hi all,
we're new to motorhoming and are starting in style with an 8 month trip around Europe. We are looking into getting a refillable LPG cylinder for our heating/cooking needs rather than changing gas bottles depending on whichever country we end up in, but have some questions about how easy it is to refill.

A website we have viewed (about a year old) says although new lpg refillable bottles are very safe, few gas suppliers on the continent have been educated to know they can be refilled in the cupboard (they expect to see a nozzle hole on the side of the van like for diesel) and therefore refuse to let you fill up. Is that still the case or have things changed?

Thanks for any suggestions.

geoff1947

Free Member
May 20, 2008
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
10 yrs
I'm no expert in this field but we do tour a lot in Europe & I usually carry 2 x Calor cylinders and 1 x blue camping gaz cylinder. If needs be and I exhaust the Calor gas, the camping gaz can be exchanged across Europe. The secret is economy and to use it sparingly. If on a site and hooked up to the electric, use an electric kettle and hot air heater etc. I'm not sure if you can refill all over Europe but I'm sure there are more experienced travelers out there who will advise! Eight months is a long time and you will need a lot of gas (and cash) as it's not as cheap in France and Spain as it was last year. As of last week, Diesel in Spain is between Euro 85-1.00 and France Euro 83-1.20 best to fill up in supermarkets when you can. Good luck on your travels. Where do you plan to go for interest sake?:thumb:

Tony Lee

Free Member
Sep 28, 2008
Funster No