Free Member
Nov 23, 2016
Taunton
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, I have had a gaslow system fitted to my Bessy and am taking a gap year in Europe. I have purchased the adapters for filling, but 3 weeks in and I'm struggling to get the handset to connect well and fill my tanks. I'm in France, so using a dish type, but after the first ltr or so the gas starts spurting out the side... any advice on how to get a good connection? I'm scaring myself silly at the moment! Thanks, Robyn.

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
hello and welcome

very hard to advise on the problem without seeing it

what I would do is try to find an outlet where they serve you, let them do it and watch

If same happens you will need to find a solution, could be a faulty fitting adaptor, but that's unlikely

Did you fill in the UK before leaving to know the fill system is correct?

good luck

KeithChesterfield

Free Member
May 20, 2015
Stand Road Chesterfield
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Since 2010
If the adaptor is screwed in tightly and the hose is connected correctly, in theory, you shouldn't get a problem.

Is it worth asking the Fuel Station attendant to help you?

GASLOW 1.jpg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
notsogrand

notsogrand

Free Member
Nov 23, 2016
Taunton
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi David, yes, the system was all working fine in the UK, and with the help of another motorist I have managed to fill up once in France so I know the system is working. Unfortunately the chap who helped did it so quickly that I didn't see properly. As you suggested, will try and find a serviced station, rather than self serve.

SandraL

Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Hymer b694sl
Exp
Since 2012 + Caravanner for 20+ years
The fact another motorist filled means system is ok. The french gun fits onto the dish with claws thatgrip inside of dish.