Lost satellite at.Port-la-Nouvelle, France

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Welsh girl, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    We've had satellite signal up until now. We've just lost it for anyone that wants to know.
    We have a 64cm Dish
    We had it last night when we were at Félines-Termenès.
    I know some say they don't watch TV but we like the soaps and documentaries so there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    6,450
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Too be quite honest I'm surprised that you got it all being so far south. It is my understanding that with the new satellite footprint you would be lucky to get it south of Paris. But I'm sure someone will be around shortly to explain.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Doneromin

    Doneromin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Northampton
    We have just returned from Perpignan, I have a 66mm Maxview manual dish, While travelling from Perpignan along the coast to Monte Carlo I managed to log into Astra 28.2 but could only get the Sky news channel, heading North, we stopped at Grenoble, where I managed to get all the other usual channels, including BBC & ITV. My biggest problem was finding the Astra 28.2 satellite, I found that by setting the channel to tune into the Sky News channel, after I had found that, I could fine tune to get BBC etc, if there were are any clouds, that would effected the reception, (digitalize)
    Since returning, because of the problems I had in locating Astra 28.2 (usaully in the dark) I have changed my "satellite finder" for a new model, "Teleco DSF80" this unit allows you to only locate the satelite you enter.
    Hope my experience helps.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Terry finds the best channel to find it was on the bbc news channel then fine tuned it.
    He found bbc earlier and Itv tonight but it was pixelating too badly to watch. It annoys us when it pixelates. Had to admit defeat and turned corrie off!!!
     
  5. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    Regarding the south of Paris reference above, has the satellite footprint changed since mid June 2015? We got all the regular free to air satellite channels via Avtex TV with inbuilt satellite tuner and Snipe satellite panel at Parc Verger back then...
     
  6. Foghorn Leghorn

    Foghorn Leghorn Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Dumfries and Galloway
    We were at Dignes-les-Bain in August and BBC and ITV 1,2,3,4 were receivable plus Channel 4 & 5 on my Avtex 21 drs using an 85cm with autoskew
     
  7. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    That is indeed a long way south. :)
     
  8. parigby

    parigby Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Oxon
    I'm at the very beginning of my search for a Dish, and have spent hours looking at the wealth of information available here.

    My perception ( and this could be way, way off ), is that unless l am prepared to stick Jodrell Bank on my roof l can more or less forget about getting a decent, regular signal for English speaking channels once l am South of Bordeaux.

    This leads me to the next bit - if the above is more or less accurate, is there really any point in say spending £1,300 - 1,400.00 on a dish when l can get the Snipe variety at a fair bit less. From what l can read on here, the Snipe is (signal wise ) very reliable down to Bordeaux, just like all the rest, and if reception thereafter is all a bit iffy on most other dishes, would l be wasting money on forking out an additional few hundred pounds.

    Considered and experienced views would be most welcome.
     
  9. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Nothing has really changed with the satellites recently.

    However, the current UK satellites have two beams for uK TV.
    A European beam that is available over most of Western Europe nice and easily.
    And a UK beam whose reception varies a lot the further south you go.

    So if you have "lost" channels, it my help to know which channels you have lost.
    Sky News (and a lot of the Sky pay package channels) are on the European beam and should be available.
    BBC ITV C4 and Five's are on the UK beam, so harder to receive.

    So if you are in a UK beam weakspot, then yes you will lose channels...
     
  10. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Getting FTA UK channels in the Aude on a 64cm dish seems pretty good. I reckon to lose them on a 40cm Camos dome around the level of Bordeaux. Sometimes the atmospheric conditions are favourable beyond that but not often.
    To the earlier poster - you will get a UK FTA signal south of Paris as indicated in my sentence above. When the new satellites and beams were being brought into operation about 18 months ago, there was speculation that the signal might fade below Paris. This was based on the indicative maps supplied by SES (the Astra operator) although in practice, signal strength has proved better than that.
     
  11. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We were in Cabo de Gata last January/Feb and had 60cm sat dome ( Autosat) and got good signal no BBC or ITV but most of Sky channels lost signals north of Castro Verde,Portugal got them back again Caceres and all way home.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  12. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    If you really want BBC, ITV etc. you can find them on Intelsat 907 at 27.5W.

    With the right sat box, you can decode and receive the channels in HD right across Spain and no doubt, Portugal and France too.

    :cooler:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Margate
    Hi Mariner.
    Which decoder do you for the Intelsat 907. We have a 85cm maxview crank up dish on the van so this should be ok. would I have to alter the skew angle. Thanks for any help
     
  14. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    One or two receiver by Icecrypt, GI, Technomate work with I907.
    Not all receivers will work, due tot he high frequency settings for this I907 service.
    Most bought new will need to have their firmware patched, to allow you to hack (so read illegally) into the i907 encrypted feeds.

    I907 is at 27 west, so you will have to adjust the LNB skew accordingly, which is very different to the skew required for UK TV at 28 east.
    It can also be tricky to locate, but a starting point it 30 west...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Margate
    Thanks to satandpcguy and mariner. I shall get the sat box after xmas and give it a go. See if I can pick it up and set it up with the van at home
     
  17. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Of course this is assuming the service continues...or continues to use the easy to hack BISS coding, or it does not move to a uk specific beam when they replace the satellite I the next year or two (sine it is coming toward the end of its mission life).
     
Loading...

Share This Page