Looking to purchase first motorhome

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by logan5, Aug 17, 2012.

1. logan5

logan5 Read Only Funster

Hi everyone,

Another novice here! We are looking to purchase our first motorhome to accomodate two adults, two 6-year old kids and a puppy. Our budget is £15K (could probably go a couple higher). Usage would be mainly weekends at the coast plus annual leave.

I guess that limits us to models 95-2001 ish. We would prefer something not too long (need to fit onto a drive with two other cars). I assume we're also looking at models with 2 3-point seats behind the cab (the wife prefers large U-shaped lounge at the back but age and price range limits us in that respect?)

We are going to go to have a look at Wellsbridge Motorhomes this weekend (near Ramsey, Cambs). Has anyone dealt with this company before? (We will be taking our time to research though and not rushing in!)
    Cheers

2. slobadoberbob

slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

you need to look wide and at many

Look at as many as you can within your budget. Ebay has many Motor homes and RV's for sale, try auto trader and look in your local papers. You do need to do lots of research... OK a dealer will give you back up, but they have to make a profit.. you pay that profit in the buying price.. Private is OK if you carry out your HPI type checks and can have some one look at it.. do a damp check.. common sense will tell you if it is right for you.

Go to one of the big shows.. Malvern on this weekend and you have Bath & West and Lincoln in September.. look at what is on offer, you can then look around for something similar.

Took me 2 years to find my RV (Which is for sale on ebay)... taken me a year so far to find the replacement .. so even with 20 years plus owning a motor home or RV I still find it hard... you will get there.. but look wide.

Bob

3. lorger

lorger Funster