Free Member
Sep 6, 2007
Herefordshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
A very contentious subject since most people do not want to fiddle with their computer, they just want to use it.

I have been evaluating the pros and cons of migrating to Linux for a couple of years having tried a few and failed but I am now running Linux Mint 8 on a server that has been running for a couple of months, I am converted. I have now installed Linux Mint 8 on my laptop.

I have to say the transition was almost painless. There were no drivers to install no extra programs to add other then Skype and any that were not added existed in the repositories for download and install relatively easily.

I will say it isn't for the feint hearted but is no more difficult than installing MS Windows and I will say, this takes a mere fraction of the time to install.

If you aren't certain that your pc is compatible you can always try the live CD version and check out that all your hardware works and all the programs you want to run work too before installing it on your hard drive without damaging your windows installation.

If you have programs that are specifically MS based and there is no Linux version maybe it will run under Wine, a windows environment running in Linux (not exactly an emulator but it does the trick for some windows based software).

If my post does nothing more than cause discussion fine but I am a happy Linux user with no need for antivirus or antispyware. And it's completely free apart from the fact you have to download an ISO and burn a cd to install it.

Got to beat paying MS for an operating system that ties you down in my humble opinion.

Oh and it keeps the brain cells working.

American Dream

Free Member
Aug 20, 2007
Lincoln
Funster No
MH
?
Exp
?
A very contentious subject since most people do not want to fiddle with their computer, they just want to use it.