Free Member
Oct 27, 2008
spain
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Hi

I am fairly new to motorhoming, we bought our first van earlier in the year and due to work have only managed to get away in it a couple of times.

I am very confused as to how the leisure battery, 12V / hook up electric thing all works.

The van is a Chausson welcome 1996. continental 2 pin plugs.

1. 1In each of the 2 sleeping areas there is a plastic surrounded wall mounted light which I am assuming is 12 volt. We have used these lights whilst on hook up and the light covers melted! Have I just answered my own question? Are these supposed to be used only when not on hook up? And if so, are these lights the only ones that should work when not on hook up, as the other spot type lights do not work when not hooked up to mains. Lastly on that note, as the lights have melted are these relativley easy to change, ideally to a more modern style?
  2. Also, the fridge is a 3 way type but the light does not seem to come on when we are not hooked up? Is this a problem with the connection maybe or is the fridge only supposed to work when the engine is running??
  3. If we were using the van off site, how does the 12V system work? Can we only use items that plug into the cig lighter, or are there appliances that work in the mains sockets? If we do use appliances in the cig lighter say overnight will that completely drain the engine battery?
  4. How can I check if the leisure battery is working?
  5. Does the leisure battery automatically charge when the engine is running?
I am sure all the above are fairly obvious questions but if anyone can help that would be appreciated as I am keen to learn how it all works.

Many thanks!!:thumb:

ourcampersbeentrashed

Free Member
Apr 19, 2008
East London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
well over 5 years