Aug 7, 2013
South Wales
Funster No
MH
swift kontiki
Exp
I'm a newbie bought our first motorhome 7months ago and love it
We've been looking into purchasing a burstner elegance 810
There are considerable savings on LHD, we were given the salesman talk about being able to sell it in Europe and not restricted to the uk market as a rhd,
Just wondering how many of you own a LHD and what are the advantages and disadvantages ?
Thanks in advance

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I have a LHD Hymer .. not found any disadvantages... last van was also LHD (36ft RV)

I wouldn't want a RHD Hymer as the drivers door is then on the passenger side..

Judge Mental

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 2, 2009
Sarth London
Funster No
MH
Possl 636 FR panel van
Exp
1994 and beyond...
Cheaper... Cheaper...cheaper! If not you need to buy in Europe!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dave and Ginny

Free Member
Jan 31, 2013
Nottingham
Funster No
MH
Hymer Starline 680
Exp
Since 2011, previously a tugger
That's a big beastie but very nice indeed.

The only time I have any difficulty is in the UK when turning left out of a junction. As you approach and start to turn left you will have some obscured vision to the right. But this is only anything of a slight issue when on your own! But I find I can see through the RHS habitation window, although on the longer Burstner this may not be so easy.

If you travel abroad then it comes into it's own!

I don't know the Burstner that well, but certainly with a Hymer it's advantages all the way...from the single cab door being on the drivers side to the windscreen wipers giving the driver the correct wipe pattern.

Jun 19, 2014
Wimborne
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral+ 670SL
Exp
No longer a newbie
Advantage of LHD - it is great outside the UK. Disadvantage - not so good in the UK.

Advantage of RHD - it is great in the UK. Disadvantage - not so good outside.