Let's hear it for Panel Van Conversions! (1 Viewer)

C

Chockswahay

Deleted User
I do admit, I am a beginner ('van less too) but I have done a lot of research here and elsewhere on the 'net.

PVC's (oo err matron) get a short shrift I think. It would appear that many people consider them too small, not comfy enough and not 'serious' motorhomes.

I think this is a personal issue and really depends on so many variables. For the last few years our (me and Mrs Chox) holidays etc have been tent orientated, either in a tent, in a car with tent annexe or cycle camping. Now compared to tents even the smallest van (VW etc) is a positive luxury! so a 6mx2m 'van is heaven to us.

For us the need is to be able to tour, to voyage, to travel.........not spend a week on the same site. We like out of the way places and prefer wild camping to 'organised sites'. When covering long distances fuel consumption is important. When we get there we like to spend time out and about, cycling, surfing, walking etc. So a big lounge for example is a low priority.

When it comes to fixed bed.....yes please! we don't want to make up a bed every night.

We are intending to finish work in the near future and spend more time travelling so the choice of motorhome is now very important. High on the list of desirables are:

Modern
Fuel efficient
Reliable
Compact
Cozy
Independent
storage
Suitable for narrow lanes and small car parks
Huge support network (motor)
Berths for two with occasional need for four

All of this leads us to Panel Van Conversions.............(Fiat Ducato esp') what's not to like!?

I should add that for three years we lived and travelled full time on a sailing yacht so we are quite familiar with living in a small space, saving water and electricity etc.

For us the journey is just as important as the destination.

So come on all you 'van owners, let's hear some more positive comments about van conversions (no coach built remarks here :winky: ) !!