Leisure or car battery?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Billy23, Aug 7, 2015.

1. Billy23

Billy23 Funster

i am at Bristol Balloon meet and need to buy a new leisure battery, I have heard that some people don't buy a " leisure" battery, they just put a car battery in.

Any suggestions as to which one I should get please.

2. Flamenca

Flamenca Funster Life Member

• Like Like x 1
  3. Billy23

Billy23 Funster

4. DavidG58

DavidG58 Funster

I am not technical enough to have an answer to your question

However, they make 2 types, must be a reason

You need one to start the engine and another for everything else, I recommend you get a leisure battery for the everything else bits (y)

If you go for more expensive gel types make sure your charger is suitable, probably best to stick with standard acid types and fit the vent tube if inside :)(y)

Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
  5. Hagstrom

Hagstrom Funster

I understand the new Varta/Bosch Silver Dynamic batteries have been developed for both functions, deep cycle and vehicle start, for cars which now have switch off when stationary and start automatically when you press the accelerator. I believe they are good value.

6. JeanLuc

JeanLuc Funster

I spoke to Varta before replacing my leisure batteries last year and they advised against fitting the Silver Dynamic battery for leisure / habitation use. They make a range of batteries designed for the purpose.

• Like Like x 1
  7. Hagstrom

Hagstrom Funster

8. Doctor Dave

Doctor Dave Funster