Leisure Battery

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by benabbyg, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. benabbyg

    benabbyg Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Hi, I'm very new to Motorhoming (Sept 08) done a few small trips and so far so good, should have got one years ago! (Tenting for the last 15 yrs, but kids had enough of cold wet mornings) Became a member of this site and find it a pleasure to read the various facts you guys know so much about.
    I've a (very basic) question: I had to put in a new leisure battery, so put in an 85ahr, I now know it would've been better to put in a 110.
    Could I link a new 110 directly to the (almost new) 85? If so how is it done and will my Lunar Champ A551 (2005 model) be able to cope with charging them both on (a rare) hook up and whilst I'm traveling? Many Thanks in advance.
    :thanks:
     
  2. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    You can.......the question you need to be asking though is do you really need it? Depends a lot on what you are running off battery only and for how long.

    I have just one 85ah battery in my campervan but could easily fit a 110ah and have enough room and wiring in place to couple up a bank of two more. But i use my van daily as well as for touring, and never managed to flatten the leisure battery yet!
     
  3. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,826
    Likes Received:
    76,094
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Hi Benabbyg, Yes you can add extra batteries, i understand that it is best have them all the same amp hour rating. So you can add another 85ah. Why they should be the same I am not sure, I know nothing about electricity and I am sure one of the cleverer funsters will be able to tell you why this is so.

    Meanwhile, welcome to the fun. :thumb::thumb:
     
  4. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Both batteries will run at 85 amp.
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    In an ideal situation batteries should be the same type, size, age and make.. mixing two different sizes isn't a good idea, the 85ah will drag the 110h down and there is a risk of overcharging the 85ah.

    In your situation I would buy another 85 ah, if possible the same make.. your charger will be able to cope ok but it will take twice as long to recharge.

    Connected the new battery in parallel with the old, ie .. pos to pos and neg to neg using the same size cable as used to connect your original battery.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  6. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    6,770
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Hi Benabbyg,

    Welcome to the forum,

    We have a 3 x battery bank set up just as Jim (Scotjimland) describes above, ie, same size batteries, same age, etc. The only downside, is as Jim says, they do take longer to charge up, even with a good quality multi stage charger.

    Our solar panel deals with the charging for most of the time.

    Regards,

    Jock.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,442
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i have just fitted two new 110ah batteries in place of the single110ah that was on.
    no probs at all charging them either running engine, on hookup/generator or solar panel.
    the panel does keep them topped up all the time even when its overcast and miserable.
    if you do buy another one just connect them as scotjimland says...pos to pos...neg to neg.

    pos to neg will give you a big bang when you connect the second wire so take care.:Eeek:

    another point is make sure you fit a fuse at BOTH ends of the pos link wire just incase it rubs on anything and shorts out.
    i used 35amp car type fuses and 7sqmm cable (50 amp rated) to connect them.

    hope this helps.

    john.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  8. benabbyg

    benabbyg Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Many Thanks! appreciate all the advice.
    Bye for now, Phil:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page