SMB

Apr 26, 2013
Spain
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp
Fulltiming since February 2013
As a complete beginner when it comes to electrical systems, I have a few questions which the average 12-year-old would laugh at. I recently replaced my old leisure batteries with Banner energy bull 110A lead acid batteries and would like to know:
- is it okay to top-up the water while the batteries are still connected?
- what precautions should I take?
- what is the best way to test the efficiency of the battery without removing it/unconnecting it ie hydrometer, voltmeter?

Any other advice would be appreciated as well.
Thanks.

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
no problem topping up whilst connected. Efficiency can only be tested with a regulated discharge test. You can however test the state of charge with a voltmeter which could give some indication of a failed cell.

Reactions: SMB

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
Are the batteries inside the van or in a sealed compartment? Energy Bull are not sealed batteries and if inside, it would be prudent to vent them to the exterior.
What kind of batteries have they replaced? If the previous ones were gel, you need to adjust the charger setting accordingly because gels need a different regime to wet lead-acid. If the previous ones were wet lead-acid, you can ignore this point.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
SMB

SMB

Apr 26, 2013
Spain
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp
no problem topping up whilst connected. Efficiency can only be tested with a regulated discharge test. You can however test the state of charge with a voltmeter which could give some indication of a failed cell.
Thanks Wildman that's very helpful :) I will look into regulated discharge tests

OP
OP
SMB

SMB

Apr 26, 2013
Spain
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp