Free Member
Oct 13, 2012
Newark, Notts
Funster No
MH
Coach built, low profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Can anyone please confirm for me as to wether or not it's legal to carry a passenger in the rear of a MH in a cross facing seat. Thanks in anticipation of any help

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
I don't know if it is legal or not but it isn't safe.

I refuse to use those seats on buses.

OP
OP
Phil65

Phil65

Free Member
Oct 13, 2012
Newark, Notts
Funster No
MH
Coach built, low profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Yes I realise they are not safe and that it is probably moraly wrong to use them. But as you say there are seats on our buses that have cross facing seats. Can you legally carry a passenger in them though.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TerryL

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 5, 2010
North East
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Presume you are talking about seats with no belt. Depends on when your vehicle was registered; before Sept(?) 2007 it's supposedly legal but the police may prosecute for an unsafe load. Whether or not it's safe is entirely up to you but almost everybody who's been asked to comment states quite categorically that it is extremely unwise. I certainly wouldn't do it, despite it actually being legal in my vehicle.

The experts also say that sideways facing seats with belts are inherently dangerous in the event of an accident.

You are talking about a completely different usage when comparing bus seats - speeds, length of journey etc. You do get buses, specifically those used in school transport, fitted with belts but, speaking as an ex PCV driver, I've not seen sideways seats in those particular vehicles.

Abacist

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 15, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
N & B Tag Axle
Exp
since 2013
The chances are your insurance will be invalidated if you carry a passenger in an unbelted seat.