Free Member
Sep 26, 2012
Preston
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi can anyone help us, we bought our CI Carioca 706g last August and I should say naively as it was the first one we had ever bought. We have just decided to trade it in for another mh, when tested for damp etc by Todds mechanic our mh was found to have damp in many areas of the vehicle and it wash intend out to us that there were pin pricks already in the mh were it had already been tested and one area painted over to conceal damp. When we bought the mh we did not know to enquire about damp testing but we were never informed of damp or any testing having been done previously. Todds are now asking for us to pay an extra £5000 towards the new mh as they say it will cost this amount to repair our mh. I have contacted the firm we bought our mh from and informed them about the damp and how annoyed we are at being deceived by them when we bought it and what will they do, they were not impressed when I said I wanted £5000 refunding and I am still waiting for a phone call back today from them. Does anyone know what we can do as we feel that we have been sold something that is defective and not fit for use also they had hidden the fact the mh had damp. Any advise would be gratefully accepted. Thanks Bernie & Gill

Mar 22, 2011
NE Wales
Funster No
MH
Chausson Best of 10
Exp
Since Feb 2013….2nd Van
Sorry to hear this, I hope you can get this resolved. Some questions that spring to my mind:

Was it under warranty?

Was it supplied by the dealer with a full habitation certificate?

The painted over area, I would suggest needs to be photographed by Todds and I would ask Todd's for a full written statement from their technician, laying out the faults he has found. This may be useful if you have to go to court.

Last edited:

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 9
Hi Bernie,

Sorry to hear of your woes, but I think you will need more details.