Leave Van connected to mains yes/no? (1 Viewer)

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
Time for overwintering so all water drained etc but I get conflicting advice about leaving the mains connected. My van has two leisure batteries (gel type)and a vehicle battery of course. The 12 volt control box and charger charges all of these on my van so does it harm the batteries to leave the van on charge?
I read that caravan / motorhome chargers never charge above 13.8 volts so do not fully charge the batteries to prevent overcharging. A proper battery charger charges at a higher voltage than this to give a full charge but this is not suitable for leaving on all the time unless it is like the CTEK smart charger I keep connected to my little used Jaguar which has a battery drain all the time.This charger intelligently drops the volts when the battery if full.
The alarm on the van would eventually flatten the battery I presume , so any clues as to what to do? The van is under a large car port so I cannot just rely on the roof solar panel.

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
Mines on charge 24/7 when parked up, if your van newish it will have a 3 way - 4 way intelligent charger fitted
BTW the alarm may flatten a battery in as little as a couple of weeks so I have simply fitted a Aldi / lidl type charger (13 £ ish) to charge engine battery while the vans charger takes care of the leisure battery :thumb: or you could pay a couple of hundred quid for a posh battery master type thing ::bigsmile:
Terry

Don Quixote

Free Member
Jul 29, 2012
Lost in La Mancha, Spain
Funster No
MH
VW T6 Campervan
Exp
Not long enough, but a little common sense helps..........
As above, our MH is on change 247/365 when not in use. The on board system regulates the batteries ( both Vehicle and Leisure ). No problems so far.