Leak in over cab storage cabinet (1 Viewer)

Jun 15, 2016
West Cumbria
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Symbol
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi everyone. We recently purchased a 1999 Peugeot boxer autosleeper and have discovered a leak in the over cab locker. The internal fabric is wet and there us water staining up to almost 30cms up the front lining from the floor of the cabinet. We have checked the roof and drainage hole in the roof black strip, all appears OK. Anyone else experienced anything similar?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Sounds like all the external joints need resealing.
Just because they look intact doesn't mean they are.

Water may enter at one point on the outside but not actually reappear at the same point inside....It may follow joint lines etc and appear a few feet (or more) from the entry point.

D

deleted-member02

Deleted User
Top windows might also need resealing, quite an easy diy job, or not expensive to have professionally done (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Sarahbrightvan
Jun 15, 2016
West Cumbria
Funster No
MH
AutoSleeper Symbol
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks guys. Sorry to be thick, but exactly what external joints? Where the high top joins the body? My husband has already sealed the joint right across the top of the windscreen. We are expecting rain tomorrow, so we'll see if that's helped at all.

RELIANTSCIMITAR

Free Member
Nov 12, 2012
normanton
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
15years
hi there

Having stripped quite a few Autosleeper high tops for spares I can say that when they cut the roof out to bond on the high top, they do not do any rustproofing as such. It is fairly common for me to find serious rust in the roof structure due to poor build practices.

I would strip out the cupboard lining and check the van steel roof structure.

Cheers - mike

?

Deleted User